We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Birches Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Turangi B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Anthea and Bill made us feel welcome and looked after us. So much great food, luckily there's plenty of bush walking and mountain biking close by, so I could come back the next day and eat more great food not feeling too guilty!
The hosts have lived in the area for a long time, and are a great source of information and stories.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoneFishing5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our time at River Birches was amazing, such a beautiful place to stay with a gorgeous garden and even nice interior! We enjoyed the bath with candles each night, woke up to breakfast waiting on the table and the lovely Anthea waiting to cook us a cooked breakfast and the same at dinner! I was blown away by Antheas cooking and her hospitality she made us feel so at home. Highly recommend River Birches! Such a stunning place! Thank you Anthea!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

The River Birches is an absolutely lovely cottage. We rented it in October with dreams of doing the Tongariro crossing. While the weather is fickle in New Zealand, the River Birches is an absolutely place full of comforts. The grounds are absolutely stunning and the owner was excellent to make recommendations on things to do in the area as well as the best places for food. We did stay in and cook one night at the cottage has its own lovely kitchen and barbecue. The cottage is approx 30 minute drive from Tongariro National Park and is a great place to stay to start your activities.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildlifefanatic_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Staying at River Birches was the absolute highlight of our honeymoon!!! I cannot speak highly enough of the place! It is situated in the most idyllic place in the world - Turangi. We enjoyed hiking along the river, and just relaxing in the gardens, or in our room (although we didn't stay inside much, there was so much to see and do). It was one word - perfect. We stayed for 4 nights during our journey from Wellington to the Bay of Islands, in November 2011, and can honestly say it was our favourite location. The service we received was also impeccable.

First, we were upgraded to the best room in the house, which was a lovely surprise. It was just beautiful! The room was tidy, comfortable and welcoming. The bathroom was amazing, even with heated floors! and provided access to a private, outdoors hot tub! We were never cold, and always had our privacy when we needed it.

Our host, Anthea treated us to some AMAZING cooking, and shared the local knowledge of places to visit, and what to expect. She told us about the best tourist spots, recommended places that were not 'touristy' as such - but well worth a visit. She also shared her knowledge of where to dine in the local area, and always catered to my dietry needs, even alerting the restaurants for me so that I could be guaranteed something to eat! (Being allergic to the things I am, can prove tricky when eating out).

River Birches is located close enough to tourist locations that travel is never a challenge, and far enough away to feel exlusive.

Thank you River Birches! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BookishTraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

River Birches is a beautiful place to stay. It feels luxurious but homely, and spacious yet cosy. Upon arrival we were kindly upgraded (at no extra charge) to the larger Admirals Room in the main lodge because we were the only guests there for our 2 night stay. The room was beautiful and extremely comfortable.

We wanted to try our hand at a half day trout fishing so Anthea (the manager) booked Chris Brennan as our professional trout fishing guide before we arrived. We would highly recommend Chris. He was great company and provided all the gear we needed along with transport, a great location, tutoring on how to cast etc, and loads of encouragement to ensure a successful trip. We each caught several trout (released all but one to eat). This was a great activity and one we will remember.

It was a treat to nestle in beside the fireplace with pre dinner drinks and canapes. Anthea cooked lovely meals for us, and was more than happy to cook our trout for us. We felt the evening meals were slightly overpriced at $90 per person but rather than take a "stab in the dark" as to where to eat in Turangi township that would match up to Anthea's cooking we were more than happy to dine in at River Birches. Anthea cooked the best risotto I have ever had and the breakfasts were large and lovely.

Anthea was so helpful and is full of local knowledge so make sure you ask her about her recommendations within the area. Thank you Anthea and River Birches... we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeaPodAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The lodge is beautiful! A big and modern house with a huge garden close to the river.
The rooms are luxurious and there's the wifi throughout the area
The runner is a lovely lady, Anthea. She's been so kind and sweet, she treated us like we were her nephews.
The place is gorgeous, quite close to Lake Taupo.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed as a family in the cottage. A lovely and very welcoming home, with lots of thought in the design and detail for guests. As a family of four we had lots of space, but perhaps it lacks a little soul in comparison to several other places we have stayed in New Zealand . Anthea was very helpful and recommended some good things to see and do, and the Tongariro area is truly amazing, including a great fun river rafting session.

Having left, I just feel that we spent an awful lot for not much real hospitality and local heartfelt welcome. Others have made our stay truly fantastic and fun, this place was just not one of them, but all the same very clean and comfortable, and a beautifully designed house.

Room Tip: No pool,or spa so comments irrelevant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodwoodHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_bleibtreu, Owner at River Birches Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

I am sorry to hear that you felt a lack of hospitality during the stay at the Cottage. One of the hardest parts of our job is to figure out when a guest wants privacy and seclusion or would like to be a bit more social. The Cottage at RIver Birches is designed for "privacy and seclusion". I am glad the our manager was helpful and recommended activities in our area. I was pleased to hear about your rafting trip. I am also delighted that you found the Cottage to be a lovely and very welcoming home, with lots of thought in the design and details for the guests. Again sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I hope that you return and stay at the Lodge were I am sure we will exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
6.1 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
125 reviews
20.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Birches Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Birches Lodge

Address: 19 Koura Street | Taupo, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Price Range: $394 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Birches Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located for the Tongariro crossing, fishing, and skiing getaways. River Birches is an exclusive retreat alongside the Tongariro River. Listed in Travel & Leisure Magazine’s Best of 2007. It features luxury accommodation equipped with Wi-Fi, fitness room and onsite chef. Qualmark: Five Star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your River Birches Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing