We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anglers Paradise Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Reviewed March 30, 2013

As i was here for a family event, and also travelling through for work, this was the alternative to my other option in Turangi. Im so glad i went with Anglers. Upon arrival and meeting Lyn, it was like visiting family. Very helpful and inviting. My room was lovely, and even though i stay in large hotels, it was nice to know that i could open my sliding door to hear kids playing and enjoying themselves and other guests enjoying the BBQ facilities for a twilight dinner.
I hope to come and stay again when i am travelling through, and recommend this motel to everyone passing through, or staying for the weekend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this lovely well maintained motel. Very friendly arrival. Parked outside rooom. French doors opening on other side of room onto patio with table and chairs. Close to lovely swimming pool - beautifully maintained with loungers and cushions. Kitchen facilites very good. Bathroom with separate toilet. Highly recommende.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have enjoyed this motel in the past and the new hosts were very accomodating. As usal the grounds and the room was way above the normal standard. I did make a couple of mistakes for not removing the spa pool cover and replacing it as would be expected. I apprecited the chastise from the owners. This place although some have said dated is the perfect place to relax. Echo reminded me of home and was an attraction even though his advanced years aren showing. Poor ol fella but hey arent we all. Thankyou for the conversations over dinner in your restuarant and the chance to meet you and stay at your paradise

Room Tip: Stay in any room these hosts are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Anglers Paradise for 3 nights with Lynne and Rob. They are a great couple and very friendly. Rob took my husband fishing (he caught a 5lb brown trout) which Lynne cooked the following evening and we ate with them at no cost. Our room was comfortable, like other comments, a bit of a step back in time, but the bed was massive and excellently comfortable. Pool and spa were clean and well looked after. Other couples who were staying at the same time had been back time and time again. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed overnight during my trip to Taupo last year.
We booked one family room for two bedrooms inside and it fit for up to 5 adults (one extra bed at dining room). The hotel was a little bit old, but facility was standard, small kitchen with fridge, dining table, free coffee and tea, hot water and ensuite bathroom
Because located at a small city Turangi, it was really quiet and we have a good sleep quality that night. It was nice, clean and comfortable, and have WI-FI facility.
The owner was friendly and ready to help you, the location is a little bit far from Taupo lake, still 40-50 km to Taupo City centre by the lake, but ... yeep, you got what you paid.

Room Tip: Because the hotel has two floors, the room at bottom floor maybe (not always) have some noise proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hosts are extremely hospitable and very helpful, the room clean and while basic, very adequate with everything you could need. The ability to order breakfast and if early enough, dinner.- I wasn't for dinner but had a great breakfast at a very reasonable rate. Given that many hotels don't have or charge for wireless, it was a real surprise to have it available and with great speed as well. I only stayed a night, in Rm 5 and would definitely stay and recommend to friends to stay. If traveling between Wellington and Auckland this is the perfect midway stop over.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

You don't visit this sort of site and expect super luxury. What you expect and get is a friendly welcome, a good range of facilities (laundry, very clean pool, spa bath, a bunch of very friendly fellow visitors etc.) and a clean, comfortable room. You are assured of this. Food is offered from a small menu and prepared individually. The wifi coverage was extremely flakey but for me that wasn't a serious issue - if staying in contact with colleagues whilst taking a break is, then I suppose you might think again.

This motel represents good value for money in what can only be described as a stunning area to discover.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank treecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#6 of 10 in Turangi
131 reviews
20 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,698 reviews
19.9 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
1 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 10 in Turangi
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglers Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Paradise Motel

Address: 57 Raukura Street | 3334, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Turangi
Price Range: $91 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anglers Paradise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in two acres of trees and garden, set around a swimming pool, spa and children’s play area, with plenty of room to relax after a busy day, our other on-site facilities include FREE Wi-Fi, free gas BBQ's, guests laundry and drying lockers. Continental and cooked breakfast can be delivered to units and we also have Anglers licensed restaurant serving dinner and breakfast (reservations necessary). Also, we can arrange various activities for you in the area, such as trout fishing guides for lake and river fishing (no experience needed and all equipment provided), rafting, kayaking, skiing and transport to and from the Tongariro National Park, Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Ruapehu Ski Fields,Scenic flights over the volcanoes and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anglers Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglers Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing