We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love the outdoors stay in Turangi - and if in Turangi, stay at the Tongariro River Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tongariro River Motel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2009

When planning my family's North Island driving vacation, I concluded we had one night to spend in the Lake Taupo area and debated whether to spend it in the city of Taupo, or at the south end of the lake in the much smaller village of Turangi. I chose Turangi for the opportunity to learn more about and observe the world famous trout fishing there, and the possibility of visiting the geothermal pools nearby. (If it had been summer, the neaby National Park would have been a major draw as well). If you face this same choice, I highly recommend Turangi.

Although the Tongariro River Motel wasn't my first choice for a place to stay in Turangi -- probably because Tripadvisor doesn't list it as being in Turangi, but rather Taupo -- I consider myself extremely lucky to have wound up there. Although there are motels and lodges elsewhere that I have rated highly on TripAdvisor for a variety of reasons (value, location, etc), this is a rare one that I am giving 5 stars because my whole family wholeheartedy loved it.

After repeatedly, over several weeks, trying to contact the Creel Lodge or the (much more expensive) Oreti Lodge and receiving no reply from either, I e-mailed the TRM and almost immediately received an absolutely delightful e-mail back Ross and Pip. Reservations were easily and quickly made and confirmed, the Bakers not even demanding a credit card to hold our place. So I knew even before we got there that a stay at the TRM would be a treat.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Ross and Boof, the Wonder Dog (a local celebrity). Ross, as expected, was gregarious and a source of all sorts of useful information. Boof may be the sweetest, best mannered canine I've ever met. When I mentioned my plans to take a late afternoon stroll to observe folks fishing along the river, Ross offered to let us (and my 13 year old son in particular, who was drooling at the prospect) take Boof with us. We did so, and this was a huge hit with the family.

As for the accomodations, the unit we were given was enormous, with two bedrooms (and an extra bed in the living area if needed for a fifth adult), a large bathroom, a dining room, a completely equipped kitchen, and a good sized living room. Like many places we stayed in NZ, the heating was provided by an electric wall unit (in this case with an accurate digital temperature control), supplemented here by an additional floor-standing electric heater which could be used if needed. The unit had a DVD player in addition to a TV, and a modest selection of DVDs were available at the office for free viewing. Lighting in the living room area was a bit dim, but no problem. In general the furnishings were a little old, but well cared for and comfy. The whole place was extremely cozy. It would be easy to spend a week, or several weeks, there (and the modest cost would make this feasible financially).

The location of the TRM is wonderful for anyone with plans to fish in the river (most likely the biggest draw to Turangi), which is just a very short distance away, perhaps a hundred meters. (By the way, do NOT use Google Maps to locate the motel, which Google places nowhere near Link Road, the actual address. We were using the Google map to find the hotel and wasted about 20 minutes hunting for it, til we figured out the problem. If you're coming from Taupo, look very carefully to your left right after you cross the bridge, the motel sign is easy to miss -- at least we did!)

Dining options proved somewhat limited in Turangi, but there was a good grocery store within walking distance. With such a well-equipped kitchen in our unit, we decided to enjoy a home-cooked meal, a pleasant break from restaurant food.

Thanks again Ross, Pip, and Boof, for a wonderful stay. We hope to be back someday, and do some fishing the next time!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4Runner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2008

We had two great nights at this motel in Turangi, which is a great option if you want to explore Tongariro National Park, without having to drive from Taupo. There's not much in Turangi, but it's also a more quiet and peacefull place compared to nearby Taupo.
We stayed at a two bedroom unit, which had all we needed. The style was a bit old fashioned, but that just added to its charm. The owner of the place has great knowledge of the area (and especially fishing, if you are in to that). From the property is also great views of the nearby volcanoes in Tongariro National Park.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank harapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PEDRO85_MAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Yupwup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben11112222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joseana_Celiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,630 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro River Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro River Motel

Address: Corner of Taupahi Road and Piri Road | Or Corner of State Hwy One and Piri Road, Turangi 3353, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: $65 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tongariro River Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro River Motel has eleven relaxed comfy fully-self-contained older retro units, varying from spacious studios sleeping three persons to two bedroom family units sleeping up to six, with every facility ideally suitable for long term stays. Tongariro River Motel is their 'chosen preferred selected' Turangi accommodation confirmed by the * "star" rating All units have full size ovens, microwaves, fridges. Covered parking, under cover bbq's. 50 sky TV channels. Free wifi. Free guest laundry (with washing machine, laundry powder, electric dryer or clothesline), Trout cleaning station, free fish smoker, free fish freezers available. Free bikes plus lock up facilities for visitors bikes and baggage. Pet friendly (also owners' friendly Boxer dog available for "walkies") Childrens play area with trampoline, slide and swings. Childs cots and high chairs available. Electric heating throughout, electric blankets, electric irons, hair dryers. Security safe at reception, fax and copying service. Extensive range of fishing & tramping guide maps & library books & DVD's, Complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate provided. Ample free parking for boats and trailers. Tongariro River Trail shuttle bus service. All smoke free rooms. All units serviced daily or by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tongariro River Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing