We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming, you want to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

It helps that the lodge is located near the stunning Tongariro National Park, but it has bragging rights of its own. The lodge is managed by welcoming professionals. Modest yet has the important elements of a comfortable stay - clean rooms with kitchens, friendly bar and restaurant, sauna, pool, game room and laundry facility. Across the road is a supermarket and close by the tourist information center. A nice river walk is minutes from the lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thanks for your kind words.
Hope your travels around New Zealand went well.
We appreciate your comments.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 201 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great friendly staff. Easy check in and check out. Most comfortable bed away from home I have ever slept in. Very clean and tidy facilities with a welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast available and brought to you in the morning. restaurant attached - food was nice, although proportions are small, particularly the vegetables.

Room Tip: Rooms are like small units all on the same level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi

Thanks for your comments.
Hope your work brings you back soon.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Was a lovely stay. Beds were comfortable, The one bedroom unit we had was comfortable, decent cooking hobs a microwave, fantastic storage and it had all the utensils you need to cook a meal. Nothing was too much trouble for the managers and the cleaning staff were very friendly, helpful, and nothing was too much bother. We didn't visit the restaurant because we ate out by the barbeque and pool. It was fantastic. Would like this to be my new holiday destination. It's also half way between Wellington and Auckland so for us it was a good meeting place for us to meet our children there who live in Wellington and Palmerston North respectively. Fantastic walks and Tokaanu Hot pools, Wow! Thank you Parklands, can't wait to visit you again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need or call in and check out the rooms for yourself. Very friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hello
Thanks for taking the time to review.
We appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

POSITIVES

 The motel is close to the centre of Turangi
 The units are set in a grassed area.
 My unit had a new(ish) counter and 2 kitchen cupboards
 The unit had TV, fridge, iron, table, etc.

NEGATIVES

 The noise insulation was completely absent. I could hear conversations from both sides and people talking out front. Next door’s TV was especially clear and loud. I tried to have a nap it was impossible with the noise. I was awoken at 06:30 by people talking outside – it was like they were in the room with me.
 The room is dated, with old beds, old chairs and a stale old motel room smell. I had the windows (at the back) open all night and on returning from breakfast I was struck how strong the smell was.
 The bathroom was small and badly laid out – just about OK for one person.
 The front of the unit is fully glazed so that either you have no privacy (with people walking past immediately next to the windows) or you have to close the curtains and be in the dark.

CONCLUSION

This is a dated motel with very poor sound insulation that means I was disturbed by neighbour noise. I would never stay again. I am mystified by the positive reviews on Trip Advisor: it is as if they have stayed at another motel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thanks for your comments. We are very disappointed your expectations were not met.
We try very hard to offer great service and value. We are not a five star hotel and our rates reflect that. We are a friendly motel restaurant and bar in a small town .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'll start off by repeating my headline: this place has the biggest collection of scotch and whiskey I've ever seen -- here or in the US. What a gem! The rooms are clean and spacious - basic facilities but the price is right, parking is convenient, it's quiet and it's clean.

The restaurant looked lovely - we didn't eat there but wish we had as the plates we saw all looked delicious. After checking in, we went to the bar for a quick drink before heading back to our room. We were treated to great conversation with the locals and fabulous hospitality from the owner, Craig. Not only is Craig a lovely host, he's a seasoned scotch connoisseur and has virtually every brand you can imagine sitting behind his modest Turangi bar. He's also got a good wine list and some rare New Zealand vodkas we'd never seen before.

Hands down, this is the best place in Turangi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Cheers

We appreciate your comments and hope you can make it back someday soon.

Slainte
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stopped here over night on our way down to Welli. V nice rooms and a surprisingly great restaurant with bar. Gave us a memorable evening walking down by the river - if you want to see some gorgeouys NZ scenery do take an hour to walk round the back and walk the river path - fantastic.

Recommend the whole package, good place.

Room Tip: Our room was clean and comfortable, although just away from the road was also quiet. Don't think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StockholmRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We appreciate your comments. Thankyou.
There is some great walking tracks around hear.
Hope your travels around New Zealand went well.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited both in a motel room and a motor home.
Pros:
Great location. New world opposite, park grounds, close to river, very nice staff, great rooms.
Cons:
Pool dirty in mid summer, bit noisy as close to state highway 1, games room closed, shower impossible to enter without soaking floor or standing under cold water.

Definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Lambton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello

We appreciate your comments.
Turangi is a good base to explore the Tongariro National Park.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
125 reviews
20.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,660 reviews
20.3 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asure Parklands Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asure Parklands Motor Lodge

Address: 25 Arahori Street | PO Box 142, Turangi 2751, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: $80 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asure Parklands Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its ambience hospitality, Asure Parklands Motorlodge combines a popular restaurant and neighbourhood bar with 30 tasteful accommodation units, both hotel suites and self-contained units, only a stone's throw from Turangi township and within comfortable travelling distance of the area's major attractions. Over the last 15 years, owners and hosts Craig Morey and Angela Jones have developed an engaging environment where tourists and visitors mingle with locals, anglers, and guides, providing a delectable taste of small town New Zealand life.Turangi is the closest town to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The Tongariro Alpine Crossing in the Tongariro National Park near Turangi is said to be"the best one day trek in New Zealand". It's annually ranked amongst the top 10 single day treks in the world. High praise but if you have even a passing interest in hiking, The Tongariro Alpine Crossing will be one of the most rewarding experiences in New Zealand. Fly Fish the Southern Lake Taupo region. Fly Fishing Guides available. Whitewater Rafting Daily. Scenic Flights over the Volcanos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Asure Parklands Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing