We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
127
90
15
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
90
15
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room friendly bar spa rooms onsite restaurant great meal swimming pool overnight stay cold beer great place to stay sky channels half way separate bedroom petrol station friendly welcome tongariro national park the owner good size
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 238 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great friendly staff. Easy check in and check out. Most comfortable bed away from home I have ever slept in. Very clean and tidy facilities with a welcoming atmosphere. Breakfast available and brought to you in the morning. restaurant attached - food was nice, although proportions are small, particularly the vegetables.

Room tip: Rooms are like small units all on the same level.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi

Thanks for your comments.
Hope your work brings you back soon.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Was a lovely stay. Beds were comfortable, The one bedroom unit we had was comfortable, decent cooking hobs a microwave, fantastic storage and it had all the utensils you need to cook a meal. Nothing was too much trouble for the managers and the cleaning staff were very friendly, helpful, and nothing was too much bother. We didn't visit the restaurant because we ate out by the barbeque and pool. It was fantastic. Would like this to be my new holiday destination. It's also half way between Wellington and Auckland so for us it was a good meeting place for us to meet our children there who live in Wellington and Palmerston North respectively. Fantastic walks and Tokaanu Hot pools, Wow! Thank you Parklands, can't wait to visit you again soon.

Room tip: Ask for what you need or call in and check out the rooms for yourself. Very friendly staff.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Hello
Thanks for taking the time to review.
We appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

POSITIVES

 The motel is close to the centre of Turangi
 The units are set in a grassed area.
 My unit had a new(ish) counter and 2 kitchen cupboards
 The unit had TV, fridge, iron, table, etc.

NEGATIVES

 The noise insulation was completely absent. I could hear conversations from both sides and people talking out front. Next door’s TV was especially clear and loud. I tried to have a nap it was impossible with the noise. I was awoken at 06:30 by people talking outside – it was like they were in the room with me.
 The room is dated, with old beds, old chairs and a stale old motel room smell. I had the windows (at the back) open all night and on returning from breakfast I was struck how strong the smell was.
 The bathroom was small and badly laid out – just about OK for one person.
 The front of the unit is fully glazed so that either you have no privacy (with people walking past immediately next to the windows) or you have to close the curtains and be in the dark.

CONCLUSION

This is a dated motel with very poor sound insulation that means I was disturbed by neighbour noise. I would never stay again. I am mystified by the positive reviews on Trip Advisor: it is as if they have stayed at another motel.

Room tip: Don't stay here.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thanks for your comments. We are very disappointed your expectations were not met.
We try very hard to offer great service and value. We are not a five star hotel and our rates reflect that. We are a friendly motel restaurant and bar in a small town .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'll start off by repeating my headline: this place has the biggest collection of scotch and whiskey I've ever seen -- here or in the US. What a gem! The rooms are clean and spacious - basic facilities but the price is right, parking is convenient, it's quiet and it's clean.

The restaurant looked lovely - we didn't eat there but wish we had as the plates we saw all looked delicious. After checking in, we went to the bar for a quick drink before heading back to our room. We were treated to great conversation with the locals and fabulous hospitality from the owner, Craig. Not only is Craig a lovely host, he's a seasoned scotch connoisseur and has virtually every brand you can imagine sitting behind his modest Turangi bar. He's also got a good wine list and some rare New Zealand vodkas we'd never seen before.

Hands down, this is the best place in Turangi.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Cheers

We appreciate your comments and hope you can make it back someday soon.

Slainte
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stopped here over night on our way down to Welli. V nice rooms and a surprisingly great restaurant with bar. Gave us a memorable evening walking down by the river - if you want to see some gorgeouys NZ scenery do take an hour to walk round the back and walk the river path - fantastic.

Recommend the whole package, good place.

Room tip: Our room was clean and comfortable, although just away from the road was also quiet. Don't think any room would better.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StockholmRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We appreciate your comments. Thankyou.
There is some great walking tracks around hear.
Hope your travels around New Zealand went well.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews