We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
121
89
15
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
89
15
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar and restaurantgames roomfriendly baron site restaurantcold beerswimming poolsky channelsstay there againclean roomstongariro national parkgreat place to stayhalf waycomfortable bedpetrol stationfriendly hostsconvenient locationone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 231 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

POSITIVES

 The motel is close to the centre of Turangi
 The units are set in a grassed area.
 My unit had a new(ish) counter and 2 kitchen cupboards
 The unit had TV, fridge, iron, table, etc.

NEGATIVES

 The noise insulation was completely absent. I could hear conversations from both sides and people talking out front. Next door’s TV was especially clear and loud. I tried to have a nap it was impossible with the noise. I was awoken at 06:30 by people talking outside – it was like they were in the room with me.
 The room is dated, with old beds, old chairs and a stale old motel room smell. I had the windows (at the back) open all night and on returning from breakfast I was struck how strong the smell was.
 The bathroom was small and badly laid out – just about OK for one person.
 The front of the unit is fully glazed so that either you have no privacy (with people walking past immediately next to the windows) or you have to close the curtains and be in the dark.

CONCLUSION

This is a dated motel with very poor sound insulation that means I was disturbed by neighbour noise. I would never stay again. I am mystified by the positive reviews on Trip Advisor: it is as if they have stayed at another motel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thanks for your comments. We are very disappointed your expectations were not met.
We try very hard to offer great service and value. We are not a five star hotel and our rates reflect that. We are a friendly motel restaurant and bar in a small town .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I'll start off by repeating my headline: this place has the biggest collection of scotch and whiskey I've ever seen -- here or in the US. What a gem! The rooms are clean and spacious - basic facilities but the price is right, parking is convenient, it's quiet and it's clean.

The restaurant looked lovely - we didn't eat there but wish we had as the plates we saw all looked delicious. After checking in, we went to the bar for a quick drink before heading back to our room. We were treated to great conversation with the locals and fabulous hospitality from the owner, Craig. Not only is Craig a lovely host, he's a seasoned scotch connoisseur and has virtually every brand you can imagine sitting behind his modest Turangi bar. He's also got a good wine list and some rare New Zealand vodkas we'd never seen before.

Hands down, this is the best place in Turangi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueKitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Cheers

We appreciate your comments and hope you can make it back someday soon.

Slainte
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stopped here over night on our way down to Welli. V nice rooms and a surprisingly great restaurant with bar. Gave us a memorable evening walking down by the river - if you want to see some gorgeouys NZ scenery do take an hour to walk round the back and walk the river path - fantastic.

Recommend the whole package, good place.

Room Tip: Our room was clean and comfortable, although just away from the road was also quiet. Don't think any room would better.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank StockholmRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We appreciate your comments. Thankyou.
There is some great walking tracks around hear.
Hope your travels around New Zealand went well.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We visited both in a motel room and a motor home.
Pros:
Great location. New world opposite, park grounds, close to river, very nice staff, great rooms.
Cons:
Pool dirty in mid summer, bit noisy as close to state highway 1, games room closed, shower impossible to enter without soaking floor or standing under cold water.

Definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Lambton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello

We appreciate your comments.
Turangi is a good base to explore the Tongariro National Park.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The hotel was a short drive to the Tongariro shuttle service parking lot, and that's the reason we chose this hotel. The service at the hotel was quite good and the rooms, although outdated, were comfortable. If you're in town over a holiday, be forewarned that there are very few restaurant options available during these times. The hotel restaurant is one of the better restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachrageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig M, Owner at Asure Parklands Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hello

Thanks for taking time to review our Lodge.
We do our best to offer great service.
We trust your travels throughout New Zealand went well.

Regards
Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews