We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly owner, very helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very friendly owner, very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were walking to the hostel when a red van pulled up and offered us a lift. It was the owner Ian, who didn't know we were staying at his place but said he always helps backpackers. He was not wrong.

The hostel itself was pretty standard, okay kitchen, nice enough rooms, nothing to shout about but certainly nothing to complain about either. The reason I've not marked this hostel as average though was because the owner really went above and beyond, getting up at 4am to drive us to the start of the alpine crossing and charging us a very reasonable rate. He was always friendly and helpful and really makes the place worth staying at. He's also a nutter, but in a good way!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkthisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    14
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
37
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hostel for the price and at first glance was a bit dubious but after staying for 2 nights I have to admit it is a great place and I would stay there again. I had a single room which had a comfy bed and a sink in the corner which was a bit of a luxury.
The owner (and his super helpful 12yr old son) were on hand to answer questions and even gave me a lift to the Alpine crossing with others who were doing it.
It is a haphazard eclectic mix of a place and if it was renovated could charge way more but in terms of value for money and a welcoming atmosphere it is simply unbeatable.
Thanks!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank niruthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were in A plus Backpackers Lodge to do the Tongariro Crossing. We stayed 2 nights and it was really nice with a family and cool atmosphere. Ian, the backpacker's owner, is always here to help you and advice you about what to do in the area, especially for the Tongariro Crossing and the shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had a great time in this hostel. It is a family run business, me and my friend basically became friends with the owner, he is awesome! Really nice and fun, he even took us to the start of the Tongariro Alpine Crossing for a few bucks! He also took us to the local market :)

The hostel itself is really nice and comfortable. All the walls are painted by the people sleeping there, it really feels like home. I enjoyed my stay a lot, it is my favourite hostel ever!

Room Tip: We had booked a 6-bed room but the owner put us in the suite because the room was named "Pierre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We (2) were lucky to find this place! Camping on the grass in the backyard with our campervan for 2 nights we felt like becoming part of the family. Ian has so many good advices on how and where to travel around. If you just tell him what you like to do he certainly has ideas on how to save money or find great companies for your next adventure (e.g. kayaking, rafting, hiking ...). Fantastic staff, quite surroundings to relax after and clean facilities add up to a great hostel! Stefan & Mariella

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend and I stayed in A Plus for three nights in November. Our room was very basic -- as expected for the low price -- but clean. The showers are great, lots of pressure and hot water. The kitchen is good. Ian drove us up to the Tongariro Crossing for fuel money (he doesn't always drive though, so don't rely on that). They have a lot of movies to watch and some games to play for rainy or lazy days. The animals -- cats, birds, a dog and a calf -- add to the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moritz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for a few days in February this year but only just got round to writing a review. My friend and I only stayed here because it was easy to do the Tongariro Northern Circuit from here. Andy gave us a lift at 3am to Whakapapa for $20 which was really handy, we also stored the stuff we didn't need for the hike at the hostel for when we got back. The place has really nice vibes. It's a bit like a maze of separate buildings joined together with really cool paintings everywhere you look. The lounge has a few really comfy sofa's around a TV, it felt really homely. There were some birds in the cage next to the TV which were pretty loud at times though. The kitchen was roomy with everything you'd need. It has a dish drainer as well, they make doing dishes so much easier. I stayed in an 8-bed dorm. The bunk beds were super comfy. There are only 2 sockets to share between 8 people which was a bit annoying. There's a supermarket 10 minutes walk away. The service was superb, Andy was a really nice guy who helped us loads with the Northern circuit. It was the cheapest place we stayed at as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Extreme Backpackers
Extreme Backpackers
#1 of 17 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turangi Kiwi Holiday Park
Turangi Kiwi Holiday Park
#16 of 17 in Turangi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Plus Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Plus Backpackers Lodge

Property: A Plus Backpackers Lodge
Address: 41 Te Iwiheke Place, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A Plus Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a 10 minute walk from the i site and supermarket.we are happy to pick up and drop off.deals with local shuttle to do the tongariro crossing.a relaxed family vibe in which to do hiking, skiing, trout fishing. thermal activity. hiking in the kaimanawas forest park, exploring the local glow worm cave at okapata down shaft, and central located in the middle of the north island, to do hawkes bay winery , taranaki and mt egmont, and a half way point between auckland and wellington ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Plus Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing