We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”
Review of Judges Pool Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Judges Pool Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Judges Pool Motel (named after a nearby fishing spot) for three nights and would definitely stay again. The units are extremely clean and comfortable, with hotel standard sheets and bathroom. The unit was serviced each day while we were out enjoying the many local attractions - Turoa and Whakapapa Skifields, the Chateau, Tokaanu Hotpools, Taupo etc. The owners and their three gorrgeous cats were very friendly! Our one bedroom unit was large enough for a family of four as kids can sleep on the two single beds in the lounge. Flatscreen tv, dvd player, heatpump and microwave were all up to date and made our stay more comfortable.
There is a covered bbq area with seating close to the units. You can borrow their dvds and even buy free range eggs for 30c each - a real bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExSplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We are pleased that we could could accomadate all your needs and on your next trip hope to see you.
Thanks Jill and Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 140 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Very surprised at the great value for money unique features available for fishermen (people?) and the really nice owners.
An Aussie and his delightful Kiwi wife.
He is a keen fisherman so Everything you might want is thought of.
It will be my Turangi stopover from now on.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We checked in today rooms are very spacious having two 2brhk providing complimentary dvds central location well equipped kitchen ennnnjoying stay. Looking forward to water rafting in tongariro river one of the best in the world....dr ashok lodha in newzeland

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Ashok2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great place to stop if you are passing through or staying to fish etc.
Recently renovated (including heatpumps), love the outdoor covered BBQ area set-up for groups or families, there are also private balconies out the back to enjoy the sunshine.
Free wifi (great signal) and 50+ Sky channels. Owners are super friendly and helpful.
Value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have renovated. If you prefer a closed shower ask for a middle room (3-5), the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. Everything was clean and tidy. Excellent BBQ area. Great for socialising. Great location. Very central yet still quiet. We booked the whole complex out for two nights and would highly recommend for any other group.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Deb_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed one night with friends. Basic units, but with everything one would need. Extremely good value for the cost of the room. Free WiFi, which worked well. Comfortable bed - better than some places costing twice as much - heat and electric blankets all in good order and worked well. Friendly and helpful owner/operator. Quiet with good parking. All in all a very positive experience. A definite keeper

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for the kind review
Hope to see you again some time
jill and chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Clean, tidy, warm and dry is the best way to describe the rooms while the service and helpfulness of the owners was second to none. They went out if their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. We will be back and wish Chris and Jill all the best and thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.1 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 10 in Turangi
69 reviews
20.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#9 of 10 in Turangi
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Pool Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Pool Motel

Address: 92 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: $85 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Judges Pool Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014. Just a stone's throw from the world-renowned Tongariro River at the southern end of Lake Taupo, Judges Pool Motel offers comfortable, quiet place to stay. Stroll to the river pools to fish for big Rainbow and Brown Trout or venture to the nearby Tongariro National Park with its alpine walks and ski fields. Judges Pool Motel provides the perfect base for your activities or the ideal stopover with no traffic noise on your travels, with affordable family accommodation in our fully self-contained units. We're one of the area's most popular motels and the owners-operators Stella and Rhett have a wealth of local knowledge to share with you. . All Units Serviced Daily . Free Unlimited WIFI . Heat Pumps / Air Conditioning . Laundry and a Drying Room . Undercover BBQ Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Judges Pool Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing