We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Tongariro River Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.23*
and up
Tongariro River White Water Rafting Adventure from Taupo
More Info
$70.55*
and up
2-hour Tongariro River Family Rafting Excursion in Turangi
More Info
$152.25*
and up
White Water Rafting Tour with Optional Adventure Packages
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tongariro River Rafting is the most experienced outdoor adventure company on the Tongariro River. We create journeys, share stories and bring people closer to nature through biking, fishing and rafting. We celebrate 25 years as a family owned and operated business in 2015. We're passionate about showing off our amazing region to visitors and are dedicated to preserving the natural environment of the Tongariro River for future generations – so much so, we founded the Blue Duck Project – with the goal of returning the rare native Blue Duck to its traditional habitat along the Tongariro River. Our adventures include Grade 3 white water rafting trips, family floats for the younger rafters or first timers, mountain biking and fishing. On your Grade 3 white water rafting trip, you will have an unforgettable 2.5 hours navigating over 60 heart-pounding rapids with an expert guide at the helm. All of our guides are highly trained professionals and our equipment is top quality. You'll even enjoy a deli style lunch after your trip (hot soup in winter). Prepare yourself for one of the most stunning white water rafting adventures in New Zealand – we know this river like the back of our paddle! “Oar-some!!”
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
Maungatapere, null, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a trip with these guys after a presentation at the timeshare in Turangi. We wanted our kids aged 5 and 8 to have a great time and experience rafting for the first time.
I was a bit worried that it would be just a flat paddle down the lower river but it was far from that.
Ryan was our guide and no only was he and his partner very professional and courteous they knew the river well.
Ryan was very patient with getting the kids organized and I got the feeling he had done it many times before, which of course he had.
We all got to the river and on-board where to our delight the trip was very exciting with us traveling over grade 2 rapids which were easy for us adults and a little scary (but in a good way) for the kids. By the end they whooping and hollering and really enjoying themselves. Ryan was knowledgeable about the river and his commentary throughout the trip was excellent, I would easily recommend this trip if you are looking for a fun and safe activity with small kids.
The other surprise was the all inclusive photo CD at the end, great value!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulaGerrard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth O, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Its always a delight for us to have families on the float section. To see the little ones eyes light up when they realise that the rafting is just so much when you go through the rapids is something really special....so its even more fantastic when we get a review like this. Glad that you all had such a great time on the river and we look forward to seeing you back when the kids are old enough to do the Whitewater once they are both 10
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    564
    25
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

my 11yr old daughter and I went rafting with Ryan and Jaz last week, and had a fantastic time. The weather was gorgeous, the scenery beautiful, and the crew were friendly, professional and informative about the river and the the history of the area. We jumped off rocks, floated next to the raft, and had an unexpected treat of Milo and chocolate fish on a quiet section of the ever. My older daughter and I did the same trip with these guys 10 years ago, which was also a great experience. I can't imagine how this could have been any better!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roscoe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth O, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review. Oarsome that after your first trip with us 10 years ago you have come back with your other daughter and once again had such a great time on the river. I will pass on your comments to Ryan and Jazz.

Kind regards

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must do rafting adventure”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We did this with a couple of friends after jet boat ride. Brilliant time. Our guide Ryan (the ginger) was excellent. Knows the river very well with great commentary on the trip. It is a beautiful river and this rafting trip is the only way to see it. I would highly recommend this and will definitely do it again. Thanks to all the team there for a fantastic time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madgheko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth O, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed the jet boat and rafting combo it is a great way to spend a day in the Lake Taupo district. I will pass on your comments to Ryan.

Kind regards

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
1 review
“Genial !”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

une 1ere pour moi, une 2eme pour mon partenaire. Nous avons eu Ryan en moniteur, il est tout simplement super ! Securite, fun et magnifiques paysages, et Ryan qui nous fait part de ses petites anecdotes droles ou impressionnantes.Excellent moment !

It was awesome. 1h30 rafting/sight seeing, with Ryan, who is a great teacher/guide. Verry funny :)
We had a hot chocolate + marshmallow middle lentgh of the trip on the river. And at the end they sent us to hot pools, that was perfect after being in cold water (but you don't feel the cold at all unless you jump in the water and stay a while).
After that they return us to their office, and they offered us some tomatoe soup, bread and hot drinks, yum. And we can buy for 30NZ$ the CD of our rafting pictures.
Thank you Tongariro river rafting :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lor2lor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth O, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi thanks for the great review. Its always great to see that clients have truly connected with our staff and its hard not to in such a stunning part of the world. I hope that the rest of your travels in NZ are fun.

Kind regards

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rafting the Truly Wild and Scenic Tongariro River”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Tongariro River is a truly wild and scenic river. With a 265 meter drop in about 13 Km, and more than 60 rapids it is a trip that is beyond fun and beyond beautiful. The beauty of the river is even more remarkable by the realization that some of the sections are only accessible by boat or foot. Floating through 50 meter tall slot canyons, you are eye level with rocks that were deposited around 160 CE. The river water is drinkable. There are schools of trout and even a few Whios. And of course, there are the ubiquitous Tui birds.

We, my wife and I, along with my daughter and son-in-law, put in at the Poutu Intake with our guide, Ryan. Almost immediately, we were in white water. The rapids and riffles continued one right after the other for the entire trip. While never in danger, the flow kept us moving as we paddled to position our boat for the next drop. This was fortunate, as there was a slight rain during our trip, and the paddling kept us very comfortably warm. On a number of the rapids, the route was not at all obvious as we approached and even set up. But right at the last minute we could see the line we needed to take. This is a tribute to Ryan’s knowledge of the river and his experience as a river guide. At Sandstone Pool, Ryan asked if we wanted to swim. I suspected he asked in jest. My daughter and I, none the less, looked at each other and thought “Heck Yeah!” Ryan pulled the boat over to a rock, where we climbed up a couple of meters and jumped in. While I had no idea of the water temperature, the air temperature was probably around 12c. But since we were in wetsuits, splash jackets and PFDs, we never got cold. Halfway through the float, we came upon the Rangipo Prison Road bridge, with the adjacent, and no longer used, solitary confinement tower of the prison. This was also one of the few slow portions of the river. 13Km downstream from Poutu Intake, we put out at Blue Pool, where we loaded up the raft and drove to Oasis Motel in Tokaanu. Here we stripped off our wetsuits and soaked in the geothermal pool to relax, warm up, and enjoy one of the standout features of the Lake Taupo region. After the soak, we returned to the Tongariro River Rafting shop for a delicious bowl of soup and bread.
Ryan is a well qualified and experienced river guide. He knows his craft, knows the Tongariro River, as well as the geologic and botanic history of the region. He’s passionate about conserving the beauty of the area, evidenced by his advocacy for the endangered Whio/Blue Duck. And if that’s not enough, he’s just an all around fun guy.

As a “Yank” living in Oregon, I think of myself as pretty spoiled when it comes to nature and the beauty of the out of doors. I’ve been an outdoorsman for most of my life, and have rafted a few rivers, both guided and not. By any standard, the Tongariro River rafting trip is stunningly gorgeous and should not be missed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tato S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth O, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for such a fantastic review. Glad to see that you had such a great time on the river. It is Oarsome to see that you connected with Ryan so well and had such a memorable time on the river. I trust that the rest of your travels go well. Thanks for the review once again.

Kind regards

Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongariro River Rafting also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Tongariro River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing