We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”

Tongariro National Trout Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.92*
and up
Tongariro River Family Fun White Water Rafting from Turangi
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Walk the banks of the world famous Tongariro River. Visit the Trout Hatchery with its own museum and fresh water aquarium. Learn the history of fishing in Taupo. Have a picnic by the pond, feed the trout with special food available for sale from our visitor centre. See wild trout in the streams and at the underwater viewing chamber. Small charge for adults, kids free!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We walked to the Trout Centre from Turangi along the river walkway. You can get in to the grounds for free and do not have to pay to go in the visitor centre. The centre shuts at 3pm which was the time we arrived but we still spent a very enjoyable 45 minutes looking around outside and seeing the trout in the river through a underwater viewing area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    85
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great place for families to visit”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The trout centre is a great place to take the family. Great that during school holidays as they have 'fishing days' where each child gets their own day licence and gets to catch them a fish and take it home with them.

Helpful?
Thank Localeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Also, good bird habitat!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Unless you have been to many fisheries, you will enjoy this NZ indoor/outdoor experience. There are ponds, nice walking trails, some right on the river, and a well-done museum which was $15 when we went. So plan enough time to make it worth the money. The grounds were free when we went on a Kids' Fishing Day - check the website for those - a thrill for children, and they will smoke your catch for a donation. P.S. We saw several lovely NZ bird species in the canopy overhead, so look up as well as down!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Education, Outside walk in nature, and trout”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The new Trout Centre is fab. The aquarium is a good idea - taking your through the river ecosystem. Great education on the habitat of our trout.
Walking the path takes you through lovely bush (easy walk) and down by the Tongariro River where usually someone is fly fishing. Feeding the trout in the kids pond, watching the trout through the underwater glass,....where's my fishing rod???

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We aren't really fish people but visited the Trout Center on a rest day from the mountain and really enjoyed it. It didn't cost anything to wander around the grounds and they were pleasant and informative. A children's fishing competition was taking place and they seemed to be having fun.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SilentS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongariro National Trout Centre also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Tongariro National Trout Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing