We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Tongariro National Trout Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.91*
and up
Tongariro River Family Fun White Water Rafting from Turangi
Ranked #3 of 15 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Walk the banks of the world famous Tongariro River. Visit the Trout Hatchery with its own museum and fresh water aquarium. Learn the history of fishing in Taupo. Have a picnic by the pond, feed the trout with special food available for sale from our visitor centre. See wild trout in the streams and at the underwater viewing chamber. Small charge for adults, kids free!
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Even as a non-fisherman, I found this really interesting. My husband ( an angler) thought this was heaven.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlenBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    84
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Was a little dubious when my travelling colleagues wanted to spend time here but it was amazing. Really interesting, well set out - really enjoyed it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Staff were very helpful and happy to explain about the trout and other New Zealand specles. Worth while visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank wilsone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

You cant drive through turangi without visiting the Tongariro National Trout Centre. Its run by volunteers and it is such a relaxing beautiful place to be. I love to fly fish and I have learnt so much about trout from this place. Wonderful setting I wish I lived here.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bridgetatemirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“relaxing afternoon”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great to stroll through the walkway and rivers and feeding the hungry trout

Helpful?
Thank Wanganuilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongariro National Trout Centre also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Tongariro National Trout Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing