We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly helpful and comfortable”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Bridgenorth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly helpful and comfortable”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I were on our honeymoon throughout March and we stayed at the Settlers Motel. The owners Helen and Wayne were helpful and so informative. They knew everything to do in the beautiful town of Turangi, every route, every hike, and every street name. Not only were they so knowledgeable about the area but the accommodations were affordable, and very clean and cozy. The wifi was strong, the kitchens were immaculate all with fresh milk for our complimentary tea and coffee. Not only was our stay perfection, but we accidentally left our iPad in our bed, and Helen and Wayne promptly emailed us with the situation, and then graciously offered to have it be sent to a family member of theirs on the South Island. We were obviously upset about leaving it, but they took care of the situation for us as if they were family. We can't speak highly enough about our stay at the Settlers Lodge, and we are grateful to have met Helen and Wayne.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! And there is also a hot tub and a trampoline for all ages! Not to mention a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meaghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much, Meg. We were delighted to be able to reunite you with your iPad without too much trouble and hope the time without it wasn't too stressful. We really appreciate your kind comments and would love to see you back here sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    77
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
64
80
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed for only a night while we were traveling south but enjoyed every minute. Everything that you could possibly need was available. The room was lovely and the service was excellent. We really loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat_ld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you! We are pleased you stopped by and enjoyed your visit so much. We hope you call again if you return to Turangi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We arrived not expecting a lot based on some reviews we had read, but figured it would at least be somewhere to stay fairly close to the tongariro crossing which we had planned to do the next morning.
I have no idea what some of those complaints are on about! This place was very cute, the owners adorable, so friendly and very helpful, were so happy to assist with anything. The room was perfect. Comfortable clean queen size bed, little kitchenette with everything you need, warm and inviting and some fresh cut flowers from the garden on the dining table. I wish we had time to stay for the week! I hope to come to this little part of the world again and I wouldnt hesitate to book here for the entire stay! Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelJTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your endorsement of Settlers Motel in your review. We are pleased you gave us the benefit of the doubt and enjoyed such a positive stay. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This motel was a great base for doing the tongariro crossing. The staff were helpful and the rooms were clean. We would recommend this motel for others in the area. The Bridge restaurant nearby was a great place for dinner as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Calli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I hope you all returned home with pleasant memories of you day in the Tongariro National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great base for fishing and tongariro crossing excellent hosts very friendly and knowledgeable made our visit superb, highly recommended , Helen and Wayne were terrific went out of their way to book our trips and were overall superb hosts helens apple pizza is to die for

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We had a great evening with you all and loved hearing about your adventures in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
picton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very clean units, good facilities and friendly hosts.
Settlers motel is convenient for driving to the start and end of the Tongariro crossing if you want to take your own car, although Helen at the motel can arrange for shuttles if you'd rather have someone drop you off and pick you up.
The units are well equipped - ours had a microwave, fridge, two-ring hob and enough pots and pans that we could cook in for some meals. It is also close to town so you can walk to the supermarket or restaurants.
There are some handy facilities on site, too - including a hose / bucket / sponges etc. so you can wash your car. It isn't something I usually do on holiday, but after driving to the start of the Tongariro crossing, the car had acquired a coating of volcano-dust and it really helped to be able to see through the windows again :o)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stop over in Turangi to enjoy the Tongariro National Park and all it has to offer. Thank you for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at Settlers for two nights. We had a friendly welcome from Wayne who provided us with good information about the area and, after we had left, sent us a personal email wishing us well on our onward travels. The accommodation was just right. We would happily recommend The Settlers to others wishing to explore this beautiful area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Korsakoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
121 reviews
20.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 24 Te Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVD players and Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing