We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for family”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good for family”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nice and clean, warm (stayed in winter) , spacious units for families. Close to town center for food etc.

We did run out of hot water in the shower after about 10 minutes - but, it warmed up after a couple of hours.

Was a little above average in cost - for our 6 person unit, the rate was listed for 2 people --why would 2 people rent a 6 person unit?? Anyway, after adding all the costs for the extra people, the value was not so great.

Overall, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jedmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    76
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
63
79
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with my 2 teenage sons while we went skiing. Wayne & Helen were great hosts, and us helped out with alot of things like drying our gear each day and giving excellent local recommendations. Wayne even saved me by having a phone charger he could lend me when I forgot mine! We were a bit worried when we saw their proximity to the main road, but the traffic noise was never an issue for us, even though we had a roadside facing unit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Androssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a self contained room with a double bed and single for our daughter. Everything was spotlessly clean. Very comfortable, with a nice bit of decking under a verandah at the front of our unit with a huge expanse of lawned area in front. Enjoyed a free hot spa after a very rainy day which was lovely. Hosts very helpful - dried our wet jackets for us. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This is really nice motel with good sized units, suitable for families and fishermen, as it is near the river. Basic furnishings and fittings, (very cramped shower and toilet in our room), but comfortable generally.

However, it really suffers by being 50 yards from the main trunk road south and railway line. So depite a rural setting and efforts made with trees and bushes, we found it impossible to sleep, because of regular trains, and also trucks thundering past every min or so, for most of the night. Even with ear plugs in, I personally could not sleep until about 3a.m. and was awake again at 5.

The owners are charming and helpful, and otherwise the place is great. We cancelled our second night, and decided to move on.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HESmith, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Meriel, thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay at Settlers Motel, Turangi, New Zealand. We are sorry that your sleep was disturbed by road traffic noise. You mentioned "railway line" and "trains" - we are 24 miles (in a straight line) away from the nearest railway line.

Kind Regards - Wayne & Helen Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tauranga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom plus mezzanine free standing chalet, 3 adults. The seating was very comfortable, not always the case in Motels, and bedrooms pristine. A family of 5 could comfortably stay here. We would like to have stayed longer but had to move on. I can't praise this one enough

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayjay71Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We spent only one night here, passing through Turangi on our way south. When we ignorantly asked about the possibility of getting some of the famous local trout for dinner at one of the local restaurants, our host explained that there was absolutely NO possibility of this as selling the trout is illegal!! But she then very kindly gave us a taste of her own delicious smoked trout pate. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean so what more could you possibly ask for?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moyfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Handy location for trips and fishing. Very comfy beds spotless linnen, nice fresh towels every day. Extra's on request - hair dryer, coffee plunger etc. Shower and window sills could do with a little t.l.c. but otherwise spotless. Oven mitt & caserolle dish could be provided, otherwise good range of crockery cuttlery etc. Small fridge for a 3 bedroom unit. Cleaning and freezing facilities for the keen angler - and even better, 'mine host' smokes the catch to perfection! Really enjoyed our second stay and will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelldrake007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
65 reviews
20.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 24 Te Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVD players and Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing