We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Turangi
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Rafting New Zealand
from $97.54
More Info
from $90.99
More Info
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveler rating
1,262
45
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,262
45
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain jack new zealand hot chocolate the river white water rafting hot shower rafting experience great fun whole team grade trip these guys grade rapids half way fantastic experience great trip raft guide from start to finish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok from Richard (even though he made fun of me for not jumping into the water haha) to our vessel captain Gabe and the other couple on our boat, I can honestly say what a blast we had. Richards sense of humour I’m guessing isn’t to everyone’s taste but I quite liked him. Gabe was very engaging throughout our raft telling us bits of information as well as being keen in knowing a little about each of us in our boat and he seemed genuinely interested. The rapids were amazingly good fun. I have a bit of a fear of fast moving water so was weary but keen to experience the rapids. It has definitely been a highlight of our holiday to New Zealand so thank you very much guys. The photos also look awesome. They really capture the fun we had on the day. I personally would highly recommend a day out with these guys and their boats. They take safety seriously and put the experience and enjoyment at the heart of what they do. Richard next time I’m in NZ I might just take that leap of faith!!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Possibleprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeB2815, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora - thank you for leaving such a great review of your time with us - awesome to hear that both Richard and Gabe showed you such a good time - Nga Mihi Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting some fun and excitement at great value.
We were picked up at our accommodation we were made to feel welcome from the off.
The whole trip was full of thrills, exhilarating rapids and great banter even the jump from a cliff into the “refreshing” river was fun for those of us who were brave enough.
The staff were all professional, knowledgable about the sights and scenes and highly skilled raftsmen ensuring we balanced thrills with safety
Big thanks to Gabe our excellent guide who kept us safe and made sure we all had fun and to Rich who picked us up and took the photos.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank SAKtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeB2815, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora - thanks for choosing to adventure with us and for leaving a superb a review - Nga Mihi Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always an awesome experience for our year 12 camp! Great people with great skills and knowledge. Family friendly atmosphere and always fun times!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kelly I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeB2815, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Kelly,

Thanks for leaving a review - we really appreciate you bringing the school through with us and always enjoy our time together on the Awa - Nga Mihi Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Safety beyond compare, professional and expert guides who want nothing but for you to enjoy the trip. First time rafting the rapids and would go again in a heart beat. Thanks guys for such an enjoyable adventure.

Thank 186kirstieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeB2815, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora - thanks for leaving such an awesome review - we really appreciate it - Nga Mihi Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a brilliant time rafting down the river. It was largely Grade 3, but we felt very comfortable going down the rapids (although very wet). The optional jump in a quarter of the way in is worth it, you're going to get wet anyway. The scenery and canyons are great!

Gabe, our guide, was brilliant with our group. The right mix of entertainment, knowledge and skill on the water (plus some very bad jokes!) helped make this experience even better.

A beer and Hot Dog back at base (included in the price) are a great finish.

Thank ChrisH11055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LukeB2815, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora,

Thanks for leaving such a good review of your adventure with us and Great to hear Gabe gave you all such a good time out on the Awa (River) - Nga Mihi Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews