We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience a must!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafting New Zealand

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.97*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ingatestone UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Experience a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had an amazing time whitewater rafting over 50 rapids in Turangi. As a first timer, I was nervous, but all fears soon disappeared as we were in great hands with lots of experience. The instruction and briefing was great and the rapids were awesome. It was a pretty cold day, so the hot chocolate and marshmallow biscuits were a highlight half way through the rafting!!!. And the hot-dog and mulled wine at the end after a hot shower, whilst we saw the photos was a great way to end the day. The CD of photos is a fantastic way to remember the day. I can't recommend this company enough to anyone wanting to go whitewater rafting in NZ... it really is a must-do!.. Thanks to everyone for a terrific day!, Chas & Bev

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BevStorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Kia Ora Bev,

Thanks for rafting with us during the colder months of Winter and for writing such a great review - very happy that you had such a great time with us - I will pass on your sentiments to the Team. Take care and thanks again, Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    33
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb experience had by all !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a company weekend for professional development and offered the staff a choice of 5 different activities on the Saturday. The ten or eleven who selected to go white water rafting had a most amazing time, they were the first group to share their photos and reported that the service, care and attention to detail that they received were top-rated and we wanted to ensure Rafting NZ received the accolade. Many thanks from everyone at NEIT!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WFasGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Kia Ora, Thank you for bringing some of the Team Rafting and secondly massive thanks for writing such a great review. we really enjoyed our time with you on the river - look forward to seeing you again - come back in summer and do our "Extreme Day!" - Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Rafting New Zealand is a professional, fun team that make the whole experience utterly memorable ! From decking you out in your wetsuit gear...the awesome rafting experience....after rafting snack and drink and a CD to remember the unforgettable day ! John, our guide was professional and fun :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoanieV1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Kia Ora Joanie,

Thanks for rafting with us last Saturday - really cool you got to experience the river at "high water" - great to hear John gave you all an awesome time. Thanks for leaving a review and hope to see you back again one day for another river adventure.

Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
1 review
“Captain Jack!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Awesome rafting with captain jack today!!! Highly recommend, all first time rafters, great instruction and so much fun!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Kia Ora Nicola,

Thanks for writing a review - great to hear Captain Jack gave you a great time on the water! Hope to see you back again - maybe on our Extreme Day? Take Care, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

A great couple of hours on the water with Shannon. We were lucky with the weather as it was winter, but with the gear they provide the experience wasn't too bad cold wise. Lovely hot chocolate half way in. Great experience; Team Dubai family of four with kids of 18 and 14.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Kia Ora Gill,

Thanks for bringing the family rafting in the depths of Winter - especially seeing you live in the Desert Heat of Dubai most of the year - very brave! Thanks for writing a review and I hope you and the family can enjoy many more adventures together, Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing