We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Activity in New Zealand”

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.49*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and...
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Absolutely fantastic day with Luke and the team at Rafting NZ. I went by myself and it was my first time rafting but it wasn't awkward or uncomfortable because the team provided a great ambiance and were very friendly, entertaining from the safety briefing until the end. The rapid itself was grade 3, 14km's long with 50 rapids and beautiful scenery. I even did the 5m cliff jump although I'm very scared of heights. In short the best value for money out of all activities I did and the most fun as well. I can't wait to come back and do the grade 5 and the overnight trip next year!!

Thank Chelseagirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Kia Ora - thank you for writing such a great review - super stoked to hear you had such a good time with us - looking forward to seeing you back here for the overnight and grade five rafting adventures - until then take care - Nga Mihi Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain jack"
in 77 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 116 reviews
"hot dogs"
in 48 reviews
"waterfall jump"
in 39 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 75 reviews
"tongariro river"
in 76 reviews
"new zealand"
in 195 reviews
"hot shower"
in 30 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 45 reviews
"grade rapids"
in 32 reviews
"great fun"
in 70 reviews
"raft guide"
in 17 reviews
"these guys"
in 47 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 34 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 19 reviews
"chocolate dish"
in 22 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 17 reviews
Filter

807 - 811 of 998 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our white water rafting experience with Rafting New Zealand was excellent. All the basics were there, great information and communication, friendly, welcoming staff, skilled and very entertaining guides. We were well instructed on safety beforehand and well looked after with clothing and equipment. This latter being particularly important as we had our 12 and 10 year old girls with us, both of whom are small and light. Hot chocolate has never tasted so good and the beer and sodas with hot dogs at the end of the day meant all the rafters had time to socialise and chat about their experiences before going their separate ways. We will be back!

Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Kia Ora Mary, Thanks for bringing the Family Rafting and for taking the time to write a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your experience and the girls stayed warm and enjoyed it also. Look forward to seeing you back one day in the future for another river adventure - till then take care Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We recently participated in the full day Wairoa/Kaituna Extreme rafting with Luke and the team at Rafting NZ. Definitely one of the most enjoyable adventure activities in NZ. Despite the grade 5 rapid, no experience was necessary - however a definite need to enjoy a few thrills and spills over the rapids.

Both rivers are rafted separately - about 1hr rafting on each so 2hrs total over the day with an extra 1/2 hour on the Wairoa learning all the strokes. Due to the more technically challenging nature of the Wairoa, you really need to help paddle and turn at the guides command to negotiate what are potentially quite dangerous rapids.

Two other comments:
1. If doing the Wairoa and camping definitely stay at the McLaren Falls campground the night before and meet the crew in the morning - its one of the best and good for trout fishing.
2. Photo packages (similar to most other activities in NZ) seemed expensive for what was taken and definitely recommend viewing them prior to purchase.

All in all a great experience though!

Thank Bartleycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Kia Ora, Thanks for Rafting on our Extreme Day and for writing a great review - really appreciate it!
We love running our extreme days - rafting two great rivers in one day really makes for a fantastic day and the people who book on to the extreme days are always fun people so makes our job easy. Have a great 2014 and thanks again, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I did this trip with my 13 year old son. We both thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I will be back next year for another of their rafting experiences. This is a good half day excursion that will leave you grinning from ear to ear. Many thanks to the team for a great time.

Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Kia Ora David, great to hear you had a good time with us & thanks for writing a review. In regards to your next RNZ adventure a great option for you and your son would be either our Kayak Blast adventure and/or our Extreme Day adventure - remember as a Team Member you receive a 10% discount off your next River Adventure with us. Till then have a great year, Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went rafting with my son and father in-law on a grade 3 run and had a fantastic experience. Would highly recommend this activity for the family, great value for money and a big thanks to Luke and the team.

Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Kia Ora Paul, Thanks for jumping online and writing a review, stoked to hear you and your father inlay had a great time with us - see you back to tackle another rafting adventure in the future? Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
 
North Island, New Zealand
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing