We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience”

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$133.82*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi
More Info
$103.92*
and up
Tongariro River Family Fun White Water Rafting from Turangi
More Info
$148.77*
and up
Half-Day Tongariro River Kayaking Adventure
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Fantastic instructors awesome value for money highly recommend. We completed the grade 3 white water rafting and it was great from start to finish. We began with safety instructions and got changed into our gear which was all provided. All you need to take is your togs and a towel. You are provided with wet suit, warm fleece, water boots, spray jacket, helmet and life jacket. Nice and warm for the cold water. We stopped half way to jump off a waterfall and have hot chocolate and chocolate fish. Total time on the water was 2 1/2 hours which was great and challenging experience. Once we had finished we got changed and looked at all the photos that were taken (which you can purchase on a CD for $30) and had a beer/soda and an American Hot Dog. All included in the price of Adult $119 which is great value for the amount of time, food included and experience. We will defo be going back at some stage to complete the grade 5

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Kia Ora Kate - firstly thanks for writing such an informative review - really appreciate it. So good to hear your thoughts and great to hear you had such an enjoyable experience with us. Have a great 2014 and remember if you ever feel the need for another river adventure give us a call, Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    806
    36
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3+ Rafting”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It was great fun! Recommended to everyone at any age, even if you can't swim. I can't swim but was not a problem, also they go through every incident that might happen and what I need to do. It was about 2 hours of rafting, with view of the stunning nature. In the mid-point, we were offered a hot chocolate with chocolate fish! Whenever we were thirsty, all we needed to do was to reach out for river water and drink! Our guides were very friendly and fun. I strongly recommend this trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mpar127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Kia Ora, Thanks for writing a review and for being brave enough to raft even though you can't swim - very cool. Great to hear you loved it also - come back and tackle our extreme day at some stage - you would love it!!! Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Kauwhata, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved by the kids and adults!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had such an excellent white water rafting experience with this company. From the warm welcome at the front desk from Pianika to our excellent guides Lee and Owen the day was perfect. The kids were nervous leading up the trip but they soon lost this feeling in the excitement of the rapids - much better than a roller coaster! We felt safe the whole time (very important when you have young children) and the scenery was just beautiful. Worth the trip just to see this part of NZ. My sister suggested you make a t-shirt with the words - Lee says, "relax" - I think you would see lots :) We are looking forward to the next trip already. Looking forward to bigger rapids!! Thank you so much!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Kia Ora, What a great review - thanks for taking the time to write it - very cool to hear the whole family enjoyed the experience - look forward to seeing you again one day - maybe on a higher grade river? Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loads of fun”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had so much fun last year doing the family rafting trip, that we thought we'd come back and do it again, this time with Grandad in tow.
Again, Rafting NZ put on a great show. This is an awesome day out for the whole family. We had 2 kids with us (age 5 and 10) as well as Grandad (age 73!) We all thoroughly enjoyed the day.
We had super guide Jimmy again (at our request) and he has inspired Master 10 to come back next year and do the Grade 3 :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joey1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Kia Ora, thanks for coming rafting with us again!!! - will be awesome to see you back for the class three Tongariro White Water Adventure - until then have fun, Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Incredible day on a beautiful river”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic day on the river Shannon and Katie were informative fun guides with excellent local knowledge and we felt safe for the duration of the trip. Also Sara at reception was lovely waiting with a hot dog and cold drink when we got back to base. I would recommend this trip with its stunning natural beauty to everyone.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheekykiwi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Kia Ora, Thank you for leaving a review - great to hear you had a great time with us - I will pass on your praise to both Shannon and Katie, Nga Mihi, Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing