We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect introduction to rafting”

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.49*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and...
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We did the grade 3 trip and it was a lot of fun. 2 hours on the river was perfect, enough time to enjoy it and go through enough rapids but not too long as to get bored or aching arms. It's very safe and relaxing with a hint of danger

We also went rafting in Queenstown (south island) on a grade 3-5, but I would say that this trip was much better, so if you find yourself on the north island and had rafting planned in QT, do it here instead

1  Thank Theyarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Kia Ora,

Thanks for leaving a review and comparing our product with Queenstowns equilivant - great to hear you enjoyed our trip more - thanks for coming and if your ever through our way again make sure you come on another rafting with us - we would love to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain jack"
in 77 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 116 reviews
"hot dogs"
in 48 reviews
"waterfall jump"
in 39 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 75 reviews
"tongariro river"
in 76 reviews
"new zealand"
in 195 reviews
"hot shower"
in 30 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 45 reviews
"grade rapids"
in 32 reviews
"great fun"
in 70 reviews
"raft guide"
in 17 reviews
"these guys"
in 47 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 34 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 19 reviews
"chocolate dish"
in 22 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 17 reviews
Filter

834 - 838 of 998 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Grade 3 Whitewater rafting trip was an absolute blast! The company has an extremely lovely base with everything up to date and modern! the equipment supplied was of a great standard! The team was super friendly and funny, and had a good local knowledge of the area, including Moari stories of the land. The rafting was a blast, with over 2.5 hours on the water and going over 50+ rapids. The water was so clean and is actually bottled for drinking and sold in local supermarkets. All in all, it is a great experience and i highly recommend doing this trip, you won't find anything that is better value for money than this. Rain, hail, or shine the trip is great! I went in the rain and the beauty of the landscape was breathtaking! Words simply won't do it justice!

I would like to thank Grace and Jimmy, our guides on the water! They were extremely knowledgeable and very very professional, and you could also have a laugh with them!

Great people, great trip, great experience!

Thank Nathan2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Kia Ora Nathan,

Thank you for leaving a review - great to hear Jimmy & Grace gave you such a good time - make sure you come back one day soon and get on our Grade 5 Extreme day or our Kayak Blast Adventure - I am sure you would love both. Nga Mihi, Luke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Like many others, we had a GrabOne for the grade 3 rapids deal and had a fantastic time. It was a very wet day but this just added to the fun!

Jack was our guide and he was fantastic - he is still learning the ropes but knew the rivers well and had enough experience to manage us in the raft. He shared a lot of the local knowledge which was fantastic. As others have said, we had a stop to jump off a cliff (only about 4m and highly recommended) and a stop along the river for some hot chocolate.

The gear was extremely high quality and kept us very warm - I was really concerned about getting cold as I feel the cold quickly, especially when wet - I had nothing to worry about! They provide great fitting wetsuits, fleeces, boots, jackets and helmets. Also the gear was dry when we put it on which I was very grateful for.

Overall a fantastic experience with a great company. Highly recommended!

Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Kia Ora, Thank you for leaving a review - great to hear you enjoyed Jack as your guide - he is now Qualified and just completed his first commercial trip guiding by himself today! Thanks for rafting with us - take care, Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Right from the beginning Luke and his crew were thoroughly friendly, professional and safe. The company uses well appointed and reliable gear and have an extraordinarily well interlaced team. Luke, our guide, was fantastic being both highly personable, knowledgeable and experienced in the rivers he was rafting. If you're looking for a safe and professional rafting company with huge amounts of FUN then this is your crew. I will be back to do your other rafting adventures! - Misty =)

Thank MistyDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Kia Ora Misty,

Thanks for leaving a review. I had heaps of fun with you on the Wairoa River - thanks for coming and being a blast to raft with! All the best with your busy lifestyle - hope the Bungy was as good as you expected it to be - look forward to seeing you again one day, Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We did the grade 3 Tongariri River trip and we had a great time! This was our first time white water rafting and we both pretty nervous (wife and I) but our guide - Brett - was excellent and we were soon relaxed and having a great time charging the rapids. Brett shared a lot of local knowledge and guided us through the rapids perfectly plus threw in a few extra spins when he knew we could handle it. We even spotted a pair of rare blue ducks (on the ten dollar note) with ducklings in tow. Great experience!

Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Kia Ora James,

Thank you for leaving a review - great to hear you and your wife had such a great time with us - I will pass on the feedback to Brett - have a great summer and maybe see you again one day for another river adventure - Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
 
North Island, New Zealand
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing