We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon on the water”

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$111.34*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a great outfit with absolutely the right professional gear. We had quality fleeces, wetsuits,boots, life jackets and helmets all sorted quickly and efficiently. The guide, Simon was excellent, with firm quiet reassurance to two of our raft crew who were apprehensive about the whole idea going on the water. They did admit after that the throughly enjoyed the experience.
The river is beautiful with a good experience of thrilling rapids. The mid trip hot chocolate is a great idea. The hot showers at the end, the complimentary beer and hot dog all show that this is a company that cares about its customers . Well done to the whole team.

Thank SRhornsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Kia Ora - Thank you for leaving such a detailed and informative review of your experience with us. Remember as a valued Team Member now, you receive 10% off another rafting adventure - so come back this summer and jump on another river adventure with us! Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain jack"
in 77 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 114 reviews
"hot dogs"
in 47 reviews
"waterfall jump"
in 39 reviews
"rafting experience"
in 66 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 75 reviews
"tongariro river"
in 75 reviews
"new zealand"
in 195 reviews
"hot shower"
in 30 reviews
"grade rapids"
in 32 reviews
"great fun"
in 69 reviews
"chocolate fish"
in 22 reviews
"raft guide"
in 17 reviews
"these guys"
in 47 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 34 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 19 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 17 reviews
Filter

800 - 804 of 958 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

went to experience river rafting for first time with my friends on Labour day, had one of the most exciting experience with all the members of rafting team new Zealand, you guys are great, keep up the great work in order to show the world what kiwi land has to offer, will be back soon.:)

Thank RickyR140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Kia Ora Ricky, Thanks for leaving a review - come back for sure - get you on our Kayak Blast Adventure or our Extreme Day - you will love either one. Have a great summer - Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I went on Grade 3 rafting trip with 3 of my girlfriends this past September. When had a bit of trouble organizing a time to go rafting because our original trip got pushed back because of water levels but the owners of the company were very considerate and offered additional services to make up for it. We were about to cancel our rafting trip but very glad we didn't. From the very minute we walked into their building we knew we were going to have fun. It has a great vibe. Awesome time out on the rapids (wish they were a little bit scarier, it wasn't as thrilling as I thought it would be but it was very fun) and an awesome guide. It was beautiful to see and a very fun unique experience I would definitely go again if I'm ever back in New Zealand!

Oh and the hot dogs after were delicious!

Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Kia Ora Kim - thanks for taking time out to write a review. Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. If you are ever back this way come and do our Grade Five Extreme day - this will certainly satisfy your desire for bigger whitewater thrills! Nga Mihi, Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Did the Grade 3 rafting trip on Sunday with my hubby & 2 boys (11 & 14). I was really nervous beforehand but had a great time thanks to our guide Shannon. In fact all the staff at RNZ are really great right from our initial enquiry at Taupo through the whole experience. Friendly, safe, professional, good value.The rafting is fun, the scenery is great, we were even lucky enough to see a Blue Whio. Enjoyed the hot choccy mid trip & the hot dog & drink at the end, too. I would highly recommend this trip, so if you are thinking of going - JUST DO IT!

Thank Kylie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Kia Ora Kylie,

Thanks for leaving a review and for bringing your Whanau rafting with us - great to hear, you had such good time with us - look forward to seeing you again one day - come back and take on our Kayak Blast adventure! Nga Mihi Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was very nervous about that rafting experience being my first time out white water rafting. The team at rafting New Zealand were very nice and approachable. Our river guide Brett was excellent. He made me feel at ease as I was very anxious before we started. He talked us through the twists and turns and joked around with us a lot. I would definately recommend this trip as on the to do list if you are near Turangi or Taupo!!!

Thank Knishr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Kia Ora - Thank you for leaving a review - really happy to hear you had such a great experience with us - especially considering how anxious you were before the trip - look forward to seeing you again one day - Nga Mihi,
Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing