We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.28*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi
More Info
$97.28*
and up
Tongariro River Family Fun White Water Rafting from Turangi
More Info
$132.28*
and up
Extreme Wairoa River Grade 5 Rafting
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife did not want to go white water rafting, eventually she said she would go on the Grade 2 stuff, (suitable for children of 3 and up!), by the way she is only 54. Luckily the girls in the Taupo centre encouraged her and said she would be fine on the level 3 rapids and in good hands with the guides. What a blast!!!
We had a special experience with one of the owners, Pianika, taking us to Turangi to meet the rest of the group and get ready to go. It was a 2pm start and then most of an hour to get ready, learn the rules and get out to site.
Our guide looked a small teenage lady but she new what she was doing and kept us all on the raft thoughout the 50+ rapids, runing into the cliffs, getting stuck on rocks and all.
The side trip climbing up a cliff and jumping down again over 4 metres into a waterfall was a rush, even though my wife did not do that. This was followed by a hot chocolate and biscuits, more rapids and a special photo shoot before transferring back to the bus and the hot showers, hot dog and drink back in town.
All in all a great afternoon's fun. It would not have mattered if it was hot, cold or raining as this is one activity you can do just about all year round.
Great scenery, a bit of a challenge and some great memories.

Thank smalls45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Kia Ora, Thanks for leaving a review - great to here we talked your wife into rafting the class 3 section and she loved it! I hope the rest of your holiday was a blast also.

Thank you for rafting with us - take care.

Nga Mihi,

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

757 - 761 of 886 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

All the staff were very friendly and entertaining, yet thoroughly professional and extremely safety- conscious. We were fitted with excellent river apparel, including thermal top, wet suit, water-boots, water-proof jacket, life jacket, and helmet. Our rafting guide, Gordon, had a wonderful sense of humour and was at the same time very professional and very safety-conscious. We had a wonderful ride down the river. It was exciting and got the adrenalin pumping, and although some of the bigger rapids can give you a fright, you always felt that you were in excellent hands. The hot chocolate on the river is a treat, and so are the hot dog and beer when you return to base. Apart from the excitement of white water rafting itself, you feel like you've achieved something at the end.

Thank MarkoAthanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Kia Ora - thank you for leaving a review - I will pass the feed back on to Gordon.

Great to hear you had such a good time - come back one day for another adventure - all the best,

Nga Mihi,

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a great team they have there at Rafting New Zealand. The Kayaking was fantastic, the instruction excellent! They have all of the details sorted so the only option is to have fun and go hard. Cheers to Jimmy and Shannon for their guidance.

Thank Gareth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Kia Ora Guys - thanks for leaving a review - stoked you had such a good time on the Kayak Blast Adventure - Come back at some stage & get on our Extreme Grade 5 Day - you guys would love it!

Thanks Again,

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We did the grade 5 rafting which only goes a few times a year. Due to the country wide drought we could only do one of the two runs, but it was still an amazing day. Ironically it poured with rain for the first time in weeks and this added to the fun. The Wairoa river was awesome.

Lloyd our guide was great and made sure we all knew what we were doing before taking us down the rapids. We also had a safety kayak / photographer who took some great shots of us getting completely soaked. If you've rafted before and fancy something a bit more hard core then this is hightly recommended

Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Kia Ora Dave - Thanks for leaving a review - great to hear you enjoyed the day - even with the rain! Look forward to seeing you back one day to complete the Extreme Day and get you off the 7 meter waterfall - Cheers Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

All the staff we meet were awesome especially our guide Matt who had a story at every rapid we came to.My wife was very worried but now wants to try a grade 4 before having a go at a grade 5 river.

Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hello Ian, Thanks for leaving a review & great to here your wife had such a good time.

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

 
Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing