We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Water Kayaking - Tongariro River”

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.38*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and...
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a great team they have there at Rafting New Zealand. The Kayaking was fantastic, the instruction excellent! They have all of the details sorted so the only option is to have fun and go hard. Cheers to Jimmy and Shannon for their guidance.

Thank Gareth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Kia Ora Guys - thanks for leaving a review - stoked you had such a good time on the Kayak Blast Adventure - Come back at some stage & get on our Extreme Grade 5 Day - you guys would love it!

Thanks Again,

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain jack"
in 77 reviews
"hot chocolate"
in 116 reviews
"hot dogs"
in 48 reviews
"waterfall jump"
in 39 reviews
"white water rafting"
in 75 reviews
"tongariro river"
in 76 reviews
"new zealand"
in 195 reviews
"hot shower"
in 30 reviews
"rafting trip"
in 45 reviews
"grade rapids"
in 32 reviews
"great fun"
in 70 reviews
"raft guide"
in 17 reviews
"these guys"
in 47 reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 34 reviews
"awesome trip"
in 19 reviews
"chocolate dish"
in 22 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 17 reviews
Filter

878 - 882 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

We did the grade 5 rafting which only goes a few times a year. Due to the country wide drought we could only do one of the two runs, but it was still an amazing day. Ironically it poured with rain for the first time in weeks and this added to the fun. The Wairoa river was awesome.

Lloyd our guide was great and made sure we all knew what we were doing before taking us down the rapids. We also had a safety kayak / photographer who took some great shots of us getting completely soaked. If you've rafted before and fancy something a bit more hard core then this is hightly recommended

Thank DaveCardiff_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Kia Ora Dave - Thanks for leaving a review - great to hear you enjoyed the day - even with the rain! Look forward to seeing you back one day to complete the Extreme Day and get you off the 7 meter waterfall - Cheers Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

All the staff we meet were awesome especially our guide Matt who had a story at every rapid we came to.My wife was very worried but now wants to try a grade 4 before having a go at a grade 5 river.

Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Hello Ian, Thanks for leaving a review & great to here your wife had such a good time.

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overall a good experience. A little annoyed to find on arrival that we had been booked in for the wrong the activity and could not do what we had planned that day. Luckily we were down for the weekend and arranged to go out the next day; but it did mean changing our places somewhat.

That aside, the trip itself was good fun, the staff friendly and the guide very professional. We decided on the Kayak as it is just you in the kayak - you have more control (or lack of it!). We were told to expect to fall in lots, but thankfully, only fell in once. That was more than enough, very cold and hit a few rocks. No major damage done though. Nice day for it and even spotted a rare Blue Duck.

The beer and hotdog at the end was welcome and the coffee pretty good too.

Thank AucklandPiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Kia Ora - thanks for leaving a review & really sorry there was a mix up with your booking - thanks for being cool about it & great to here that you had a good time on the trip with us the next day. - Come back and take on the Grade 5 Extreme day with us next summer - you would love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff where friendly right from the beginning when we booked in. We were entertained the whole time, nothing was a problem for them.
My husband & I took our 2 children (youngest had just turned 13), it was a great experience & we'd go the next level quite confidently now.
I guide explained the differences between various rapids so we know what to look for.

Thank Catriona70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Kia Ora Cat,

Thanks for leaving a review and also great to here the family had a blast! see you again in the future I hope for another awesome family adventure.

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
 
North Island, New Zealand
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing