We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayak Blast: A great couple of hours on the water”

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$104.28*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi
More Info
$97.28*
and up
Tongariro River Family Fun White Water Rafting from Turangi
More Info
$132.28*
and up
Extreme Wairoa River Grade 5 Rafting
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overall a good experience. A little annoyed to find on arrival that we had been booked in for the wrong the activity and could not do what we had planned that day. Luckily we were down for the weekend and arranged to go out the next day; but it did mean changing our places somewhat.

That aside, the trip itself was good fun, the staff friendly and the guide very professional. We decided on the Kayak as it is just you in the kayak - you have more control (or lack of it!). We were told to expect to fall in lots, but thankfully, only fell in once. That was more than enough, very cold and hit a few rocks. No major damage done though. Nice day for it and even spotted a rare Blue Duck.

The beer and hotdog at the end was welcome and the coffee pretty good too.

Thank AucklandPiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Kia Ora - thanks for leaving a review & really sorry there was a mix up with your booking - thanks for being cool about it & great to here that you had a good time on the trip with us the next day. - Come back and take on the Grade 5 Extreme day with us next summer - you would love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 766 of 886 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff where friendly right from the beginning when we booked in. We were entertained the whole time, nothing was a problem for them.
My husband & I took our 2 children (youngest had just turned 13), it was a great experience & we'd go the next level quite confidently now.
I guide explained the differences between various rapids so we know what to look for.

Thank Catriona70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Kia Ora Cat,

Thanks for leaving a review and also great to here the family had a blast! see you again in the future I hope for another awesome family adventure.

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My friend and I thought it would be nice to kick back and try rafting a grade 3 again. Any nerves we had were quickly relieved by the fun, professional team at Rafting New Zealand.

From the front desk checking to the farewell at the end we couldn't fault their friendliness and skills. We were given safety briefings before and while on the water and felt safe and in control.

The four rafts that were on our trip traveled as a group so when one got stuck on a rock, the guides as a whole ensured the safety of everyone.

Our guide was Jimmy, a very personable young guy he got a full 5 thumbs-up for his entertainment and recounting of the local history and geography as we passed some of the quieter spots.

Once finished we we transported back to the RNZ base for a cold refreshment and hotdog. Some were transported on the complimentary shuttle back to Taupo.

Both Di and my feelings were that we had one of the memorable moments in life. We will be back to do a grade 4/5 and definitely with RNZ B

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Kia Ora David,

Thanks for leaving a review - great to hear you had such a good time and the Whole Team at RNZ gave you a good time - make sure you come back for our Grade 5 Extreme day some time soon as you will love it!

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Oh wowee...what a trip. Part of a recent NZ holiday tour and a real highlight. A bit apprehensive at first but these guys are so professional and helpful and want you to enjoy the trip. Felt totally safe all the time and was so pleased that I could keep up with the younger people in the raft. A great physical workout, in beautiful surroundings which you can't otherwise see. I felt the staff were really proud of what I achieved: I would recommend this activity and this organisation without hesitation for anyone with a sense of adventure. I could go on... Thanks guys!

Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Kia Ora - Thanks for leaving a review - well done you guys - living life to the full! Great to here the whole team gave you such a good time - Take care and hope to see again,

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had two kids eight and six, and we searched for whitewater rafting that can accommodate them. It was not easy to find a provide until we saw RNZ provides grade 2 rapids experience that suit them perfectly. Jimmy is our guide today and he was very patient with us rookies. Luke is our driver and he brought along his adorable 2yr old daughter and his dog. He took pictures for us along a couple of spots since we can't carry a camera. We did easy ones to get warm up first, followed by slightly quicker sessions, and we stopped to do a cliff jump (about 3m high I reckon) that my 8yr old participated. A nice hot chocolate and chocolate biscuit break; a nice swim before we got picked up Luke after about 1.5 hour in the river. Very enjoyable and I strongly recommend

Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Kia Ora Stephen,

Thanks for leaving a Review, Great to hear the whole family enjoyed it - even Bruno got a mention!

Come back one day with the Whanau and enjoy our grade 3 adventure - till then take care,

Luke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

 
Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing