We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafting New Zealand

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.97*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Great rafting experience for 1st timer. Very professional, friendly and experienced guides. Thanks Owen

Helpful?
Thank travellerfromnapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke B, Owner at Rafting New Zealand, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Kia Ora - Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - the TEAM at RNZ appreciate it! Nga Mihi Luke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    33
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Action Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I talked my partner into trying rafting and we opted for the half day raft. It was cold and raining but we were warm and felt quite safe in all of our gear - a fleece, wetsuit, spray jacket, life jacket, helmut and dive boots. The staff are awesome and the owner lady gave us a free photo DVD for our honeymoon as well as detailed directions to other attractions. Matt our guide was really friendly and inspired confidence, his directions were clear and he made the whole experience really good fun. We did grade three rapids which were choice, now I want to do bigger! Half way through we walked up another river, climbed a cliff then jumped off a waterfall which was wicked! The rival company don't do this. They seem to sense when you're a bit cold and thirsty and pass around hot chocolate and chocy fish on the raft. Back at the base you get a beer and hot dog as well as a hot shower. It's well thought out, safety concious and heaps of fun! We'll be back as soon as our daughter is old enough to join in!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Apollo2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Wendy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Fantastic time had by all in our group, very well organised and great guides, loved the waterfall jump, hot chocolate and chocolate fish after the jump as well has the hotdogs and drinks when we got back to base. Rafting NZ you rock - everyone has to do this

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

First white water rafting experience for me and my partner. Greg, our guide was just awesome! He was fun, new lots about the river and nature and history. We really enjoyed our time! =)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shokoshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, null, New Zealand
1 review
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

That was my first rafting experience and the afternoon was just the best waersport experience I ever had! The team is awesome and the white river beautiful!
Thanks to the team for the lovely moment!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing