We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun, exciting, friendly but really well organised”

Rafting New Zealand
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.46*
and up
Tongariro White Water Rafting from Taupo and Turangi
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kia Ora and Welcome to Rafting New Zealand. A family run business established in 1991. We raft the best rivers, providing family fun rafting for ages 3 years and up all the way through to extreme whitewater action. With professional, fun, Kiwi guides, premier gear and facilities, Maori culture and an excellent safety record, book with us to experience the thrill of rafting, Aotearoa styles. Rafting NZ is NZ's most awarded rafting company.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great fun, exciting, friendly but really well organised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have done white water rafting with Rafting New Zealand most years since our kids were small - they are now adults. It has always been a really friendly, family operation, but has grown over the years, without losing its friendly nature. The equipment is well maintained and the preparation for each trip has been thorough every time. They pay great attention to health and safety but it does not take away from the pleasure and excitement of the rafting. I am a New Zealander myself and am proud to see how Rafting New Zealand gives people such a truly New Zealand experience and how they make sure they use the Maori language at every opportunity.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    36
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our rafting experience. The staff was really friendly from the moment we walked in the door. The water was freezing, but we had a great time. I really liked that after we got back to base, they provided hot dogs and beers while we watched a photo slideshow of our trip.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was magic !
from the time we walked in the door they were organised and friendly. We had the best time rafting and the guide really known his stuff. This was simply the best way to see a magical part of New Zealand. Thank you all for a wonderful time and a happy family day out

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank saascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great lark!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

One of our best trips in nz. Fair priced, great fun, our guide matt was great and so was Bruno the dog! This is a must if you're in turangi. Also the hot dog and beer at the end are a great touch! Try getting a seat at the front of the raft if you like to get wet and wild

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hanssprungfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Our family of 5 (two adults, children aged 16, 13 and 11) did the Grade 3 Tongariro White Water trip with Rafting NZ. It was very well organised and well equipped. The guides were experienced and knew their stuff. Our guide took personal responsibility for looking after our 11 year old. The trip was loads of fun, and we thought great value for money. We would love to do a grade 4 or 5 trip, but they would not let an 11 year old on the higher grades.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafting New Zealand also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Rafting New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing