We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Backyard Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Turangi
from $30.75
More Info
from $22.66
More Info
from $24.17
More Info
from $96.28
More Info
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
84
4
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
84
4
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cold beer alpine crossing great shuttle service return shuttle private parking let them know super nice starting point trekking poles great transport these guys maori legends nice guy tongariro national park end of the day thank you so much brendan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 91 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Highly recommend this tour company for your trip to Tongariro. Highly informative, friendly, and had a beautiful blessing before our journey began. Thank you so much.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Annabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackyardToursTurangi, Owner at Backyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Kia ora Annabel, Thank you for your kind words of review. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our transport services to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing from the SH46 Ketetahi Security Park and Ride. This convenience you walking back to your secure parked vehicle upon finishing the hike. Safe and enjoy your holidays in Aotearoa New Zealand, from us Backyard Tours Brendan and Gloria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Gloria and Brandon are very friendly an go the extra mile with advice, local n=knowledge and transport - even picking us up earlier than planned.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank fri782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackyardToursTurangi, Owner at Backyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2020

Thank you Gaynor and family for your great feedback! We are a small family business that if we can give a little extra service for your convenience then that is worth the smiles and appreciation from you our customers. Take care and all the best for 2020! Kind regards Backyard Tours Gloria and Brendan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

Great service from friendly people! The car park is easy to find and the information about the Crossing on the way to the starting point is very helpful. Receiving a Maori blessing before starting the Crossing was very special. Thank you to Backyard Tours!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Kiwigirl1078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackyardToursTurangi, Owner at Backyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Kia ora Kiwigirl from Spain! Thank you for your kind words of review. The SH46 security Park and Ride is the only Secure Car Park from the trail end to the beginning where you walk back to your vehicle upon finishing your hike. Appreciate your feedback, safe further holidays and all the best for 2020! Take care from us Backyard Tours Gloria and Brendan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

We did the Tongariro Alpine Trek today and it was simply amazing. The collection, drop off and advice / experience provided was all first class. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Amnesiac101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackyardToursTurangi, Owner at Backyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Thank you for your great feedback! Safe further travels and all the best for your New Year 2020! From us Backyard Tours Brendan and Gloria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2019 via mobile

Brilliant hosts and transport. Highly recommended to all.
Parking in backyard tours private car park is very convenient and easy to find.
Receiving your mihi (maori blessing) at the start and end of our crossing was very special.

Thank ivanm111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BackyardToursTurangi, Owner at Backyard Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2019

Thank you Ivan and Co for your well in advanced pre-booking of your transport choice with us Backyard Tours at our homestead SH46 Private Car Park. We do acknowledge and respect our tupuna ancestors for the taonga gifts handed down to us to cherish, take care of, and to preserve for the future. We, all together have a responsibility for this opportunity to enjoy and with safety first. Thank you for traveling with us Ivan. Happy Safe Festivities 2019 2020! from us Backyard Tours Brendan and Gloria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews