We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Omg where do I start, this place is amazing!!!!! Beautiful views, warm comfy spacious apartments, the staff were very friendly and more than willing to meet our needs. We also were very impressed with the restaurant on site, decadent food, so fresh and full of flavor, our meals looked amazing, the waiter on this night was fantastic. Made us feel special ;) I am more than happy with our whole experience while staying here, and recommend highly. Big thanks to Fluer and her team, you guys are amazing ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
43
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just thanking Oreti Village Resort for an awesome night away to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. We loved the accommodation, the peacefulness, the amazing views and our daughters entertainment opening and closing the window blinds and running up and down the stairs!! And the dinner was amazing, the food was fantastic, mains were substantial and delicious and my husband, not being a huge chocolate eater, absolutely raved about the chocolate fondant dessert!!
I can't wait until we can visit again!! :))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenibecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

this is a nice location for a weekend away, with cabin like accomadations that are ofcourse more like 3-4 star motel. The best things about this place are 1. the view from the rooms are to die for over the lake and beyond, 2. the decks in front of the rooms are great to sit and relax on, listen to the native birds and bush, 3.teh quiet atmosphere here lends itself to relaxation. The main negative thing here is the restaurant which was understaffed on the night we attended (a Saturday) and the food was just not up to par in all respects. If was was coming here to determine if I was going to have a wedding here I would have declined to book unless I would be able to bring my own chef.... all food was either not made from scratch, or overcooked, and something from 20 years ago.

Room Tip: all rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We were very disappointed with this review as at no time did the guest voice their disappointment to staff so that the problem could be rectified.
We have done many weddings and many of the guests & weddings Couples tell us that that it is the best wedding food they have had.
Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A wonderfully tranquil spot with stunning views of Lake Taupo which made for a great weekend getaway. The 2 bedroom apartment was well laid out and pretty well appointed for self catering and the breakfast "basket" option provided a very simple and elegant solution to an early breakfast on the road. The on-site restaurant has wonderful views and a very relaxed ambience, but the food (whilst well prepared) was a little disappointing and I felt over-priced for what was served and as a result I would suggest going down the self catering route, but as previous reviewers have noted - get your supplies before you arrive as the closest decent supermarket is about 15-20min away.
The layout of the adjacent properties gave a high degree of privacy and everything was spotless, the bed was reasonably comfortable and certainly allowed for a decent sleep and the showers had plenty of very hot water and good pressure. Overall a very enjoyable stay that with a few small changes could be fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for your review. We have taken your comments on board with prices for the restaurant and have now nightly specials , and as Always complimentary vegetables.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay for three nights and have our daughters wedding at this venue.Having the wedding guests to stay at the venue was great, they also fell in love with Oreti. Accommodation works out very reasonable when you can share the apartments with another couple.Nothing was any trouble for the Ashford family, Fleur, you were so helpful with everything.Having a wedding and a dinner the night before and breakfast the next morning everyone agreed the food was just amazing.
We chose this venue without the bride & groom as they live overseas & it was special to see them also love Oreti.Thank you so much the Ashford family

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank commodoreHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks Richard for your review we look forward to welcoming you and the Happy couple back
Best wishes Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Oreti Village for two nights. It was very quiet as there was hardly anyone else there. We loved the stunning views from the apartment, the great kitchen facilities which allowed us to self cater, a nice change to eating out and we were also able to catch up with all our washing making full use of the laundry. Although the apartment was spacious and functional, it was also soulless and bland and the bed was not very comfortable. In comparison to other accommodation in New Zealand this apartment was expensive so I was expecting a little more charm, warmth and a definitely a decent bed. With a little more effort it would have been great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marilynov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks you for your review
We were sorry to hear you were disappointed in our apartments as we generally receive very good feed back. We hope we can welcome you back in the Future.
Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at Oreti Village in a loft apartment for a couple of days. The view is amazing. The apartment was clean and well appointed with 2 bedrooms and a single bathroom. Parking is adjacent to each apartment. The Internet charges are steep at $10 for 2 hours but we found this throughout NZ. Mobile phone coverage is virtually nil. The path down to the lake is quite difficult and not very inviting. The stairs at the bottom are broken making it a wasted effort. It should be fixed or closed. Overall this is a very peaceful place to stay. Make sure you get supplies before you get there as there is not much around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpfree1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks For your review
We now have complimentary WIFI on arrival and the Track has been fixed where we can as its in reserve.
We have a great restaurant on site and a kids menu too.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the future
regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
22.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
5.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 2 in Tokaanu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
5.2 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Property: Oreti Village
Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing