We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic - Couldn't Fault It”
Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic - Couldn't Fault It”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I cannot say enough great things about this place. The rooms are beautifully finished, all have fantastic views and were extremely clean. The accommodation is in a beautiful setting of native bush, and overlooking Lake Taupo. The rooms are reasonably priced considering they sleep 4. The food in the restaurant is fantastic. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sez444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    36
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
44
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

A family run business that goes above and beyond to ensure a fabulous stay. Thank you, we will continue to recommend you to those that visit the area and best of luck going forward. You have every ingredient to continue going from strength to strength. Beautiful spot.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank themrollingstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here two nights in a loft apartment on our 3 week tour of NZ. Marvellous view over Lake Taupo. One evening we sat and watched the colours of lake and sky change as the sun went down behind us.
Huge well equipped apartment. Location is definitely away from it all but it's only a 10-15 minute drive to Turangi with Supermarket and cafes. 45 min drive to Whakapapa and some great walks in the Tongariro National Park with amazing views of the two huge volcanos there.
Ate in the restaurant one night - again what a view and the food was fine too. Really glad we stayed here and we'd happily go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steev_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed 4 nights here with friends.This resort has quite a rustic feel. The views of Lake Taupo were wonderful and it was very quiet even though there was a wedding celebration on one of the nights.
Our executive apartment was quite comfortable and we managed to just chill out and enjoy the vista's.Also enjoyed our evening meal at Oreti's restaurant .
From here we visited Lake Taupo and Rotorua and the National Park. Lots of walks abound and also hot springs. Scenery just beautiful.
Shopped in Taupo before arrival but there is a grocery store in Turangi that is about a 20min drive..
Truely glad we booked Oreti . Thanks Cheryl

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Advicetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National Park
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Such a peaceful place to stay - the views are superb. Tucked away over looking Lake Taupo. My Mum just loved her stay with friends. Every morning they had the delight of the local bird life join them at breakfast. A wonderful visitor kept the children amused, see the picture. Thank you Alex & Cheryl for kepping an eye on my Mum when you knew she was not so well. See you again next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisvanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

This is a great place to vacation if you like the outdoors and quiet, relaxing atmosphere.
We stayed here on an RCI exchange, looking to see the geology and the typical New Zealand culture on the North Island. It was fantastic and we enjoyed the stay.
First, it is about 4-5 hours from Auckland airport, and located on the southwest shore of Lake Taupo, the largest lake in New Zealand. The nearest town is Turangi, which contains a Shell station, a Burger King, and a Red Crown grocery. It also contains an
I-Site office, which has various brochures and literature about the local area and provides tickets to attractions. The I-Site offices are a must for local information.
I had contacted the resort in advance, because we were arriving in Auckland mid-afternoon. They responded by email and said they would stay open late to check us in.
When we got there, the stores were closed as well as the restaurant, but the receptionist gave us coffee, tea, cream and sugar for the morning. Our unit was a 3 bedroom for six, having a master and two bedrooms with two twin beds each. There were two baths and a full kitchen with appliances. The unit was a split level with each level having a living area with views of the lake. There is a large deck off of the lower level. The unit was clean and spacious and more than met our needs.
Attractions in the area include fishing, hiking, and various geological features, including volcanoes, caves, and geothermal areas. Driving to these locations ranges from 40 min. to 2 hours. We visited the Tongariro National Park to the south, the Waitomo caves, northwest of the resort, and Rotorua about two hours north. The resort provides wireless internet access for an hourly rate.
We visited some of the towns in the area, having breakfast at some of the cafes and shopped in the stores in Taupo, on the north side of the lake. During our stay, it rained quite a bit, so some of our plans were adjusted for the weather.
It is late fall during this time of year, with temperatures in the 40-60 degrees for highs and lows in the 30-40s. It snowed while we were there and closed one road for several hours.
Overall, we enjoyed the visit and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danham13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights at Oreti apartments with my partner and 2 other friends in a two bedroom apartment and thought the place was fabulous. Oreti is located on the other side of the lake to Taupo town, surrounded by bushland and we found it so much nicer than Taupo itself which is fairly touristy and ugly. The apartments are right on the lake with panoramic views across it and all really private. Was lovely to be able to cook a meal in the kitchen, or there was also the option of eating in the restaurant which had a great menu too. The apartments had all the facilities you'd need and were nice and modern and a comfortable size - the 3 nights for the price of 2 midweek also made it great value.

There were tennis courts, pool, spa - but our favourite thing at the resort was taking the path down to the lake and having a swim in the crystal clear waters - was just lovely.

Otherwise, its nice and close to lots of good walks including the Tongariro crossing, and we went Whitewater rafting and to hot springs just nearby as well. But more than anything, was just a nice place to relax sitting on the verandah looking out over the lake!

Wish we'd stayed longer and can't wait to go back!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wilong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
22.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,567 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,061 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
298 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
183 reviews
5.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Property: Oreti Village
Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing