We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High end rustic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High end rustic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We checked into the Tongariro Lodge and were please with our room. After a long journey we were too tired to look for a nearby restaurant so we decided to eat at the lodge. To our surprise it was one of the best meals we had in New Zealand...an award winner with both food and service. Too bad we are not fishermen as the décor and feel of the place is very rustic and homey. If you are a high-end fisherman who enjoys top of the line wine and food, this place is for you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    45
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
34
96
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed villa for 4 nights during our travels in New Zealand on varying budgets - this was our high end of the budget treat at the end of our trip and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. We were very pleased with the look and feel of the lodge overall, and our villa (no 4) - it was clean, modern, very spacious open plan living area and great out door decking area which we used for bbq's when we weren't eating in the restaurant. Kitchen was very well equipped and the villa was cleaned daily. Food in the restaurant was very good - really enjoyed the steak and the chef even cooked up our freshly caught trout for us.

The staff really did make the stay for us, as they were friendly, helpful and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble - we wanted to bbq, a gas canister arrived within minutes. Need to go into town but your partner has taken the car? No problem, a lift was arranged - and a pick up! We also booked white water rafting through the Lodge and would highly recommend the white water rafting for a family day out, great way to spend an afternoon.
I would highly recommend staying here for relaxation, fishing or other activities, great food and service from the staff.

Room Tip: Villa 4 was closest to the lodge but was very quiet and undisturbed sleep. Rooms were clean and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKM-24012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We could not rate this place highly enough!!
This was the choice for our wedding. We reveiwed Tongariro lodge on the net. Then made contact direct via email. From the onset Shelley made the expererience perfect. Nothing was ever a hassle. Once arrived our whole family and friends were treated with respect, friendliness and care.
As the wedding couple and the most important day of our lives it was a dream come true.
To all the staff there but especially Shelley, Andrew and Tania.
We will be back. As the memories you gave us will last foreverand a nice freindships made.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterH1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Agree with other comments re tv, rooms etc. The world chalet is used very loosely but they have good views. Not being there for fishing did not see establishment in it's true form. However friendly staff and wonderful food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saminthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had heard a lot about the lodge, lovely spot and if you are into fishing the perfect place. It is a bit far out if you are planning on touristy stuff at Taupo. For the price the cabin we stayed in was disappointing, very surprised that there was no fridge and room and bathroom needed a serious update and make over.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binny111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We wanted a quite 'seek away' before Christmas and we certainly found exactly what we were looking for. Great fishing right on hand, fabulous bush walks, a lovely lunch at a winery literally up the road and stunning weather. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Other guests were from overseas and interested in the great fly fishing that the Tongariro river has to offer. We were away two nights - felt as though we had been away a week!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANE-DUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Tongariro Lodge and hiked the challenging Tongariro Alpine Crossing during the day in between. We loved the lodge. The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful, and abut a really nice hiking path along the river. The chalet was basic but totally fine in all respects. The restaurant is lovely and we had a great dinner there. Service was excellent. Nothing but good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14gailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.4 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Property: Tongariro Lodge
Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing