We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING AND PEACEFUL”
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“RELAXING AND PEACEFUL”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We wanted a quite 'seek away' before Christmas and we certainly found exactly what we were looking for. Great fishing right on hand, fabulous bush walks, a lovely lunch at a winery literally up the road and stunning weather. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Other guests were from overseas and interested in the great fly fishing that the Tongariro river has to offer. We were away two nights - felt as though we had been away a week!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANE-DUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    45
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
34
96
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Tongariro Lodge and hiked the challenging Tongariro Alpine Crossing during the day in between. We loved the lodge. The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful, and abut a really nice hiking path along the river. The chalet was basic but totally fine in all respects. The restaurant is lovely and we had a great dinner there. Service was excellent. Nothing but good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14gailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I agree with comments in other reviews that the rooms are not the most modern or luxurious I've ever experienced. . . but, they are very comfortable, they have lovely views, there is such peace and calm . . . and the people who work there, you just don't want to leave.
We had a rather stressful day, and barely arrived at the lodge in time for our dinner reservation. We were greeted with pleasure "any time is fine". We had a delicious, calm meal, after a glass of champagne. The next day my husband had a wonderful morning of fishing and I was provided with instructions (and an escort to the trailhead) for a beautiful hike. We would have loved to stay a week, it's a great place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaseycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Tongariro Lodge in July for a weekend getaway and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a last minute trip away and we wanted somewhere we could relax and yet also do a few active things. The lodge was perfect for this, sitting along the Tongariro River, the grounds are beautiful and the staff were lovely. We spent our evenings in the lodge relaxing by the fire having a few drinks and ate most of our meals there - it was fantastic. I highly recommend this small, intimate place, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dacs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Tongariro Lodge for a special occasion. The accommodation is basic - There was no fridge in our room and as we were moving on to self catering accommodation we had provisions which needed to be kept cold. The rooms are small and could do with a makeover. However the view from our chalet was lovely - we had No. 10 and could see the river. The chalets closer to the river would not have the view because of the stop bank. We had afternoon and evening sun and it was glorious sitting on the deck. The lodge itself is lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. There was a big group in but we did not feel we lacked any service although we did have to ask for the complimentary canapés. Our meal was delicious as was breakfast. Tongariro Lodge is not quite up there with the best of them, the accommodation lets them down .

Room Tip: Lower units I think would not have a view of the river - most higher ones would. I was told to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We treated ourselves recently to 2 nights in a chalet. Extremely underwhelmed by this so-called luxury unit. No refrigerator, tiny tv, poor bathroom lighting, dated 1980s bathroom appointments and very little space for clothes etc. the whole unit was 'tired' and needed refurbishment.
However, the chef is a gem and we had 2 lovely dinners and were well looked after by wait staff. Breakfast, unfortunately, was poor with cheap jams, impossible to open cereal boxes and poor choice of breads. We were embarrassed to have to share breakfast time with overseas guests who seemed also taken aback at the miserable breakfast choices.
Overall, not a good ad for our beautiful fishery and should not be advertised as luxury in any sense. We have paid less for 5 star accommodation - this would be 3 star at the most.

Room Tip: Try the villas?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelley W, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, although disappointing we value your thoughts and use it to assist us in making improvements. It's important to point out that our guests enjoy 2 accommodation choices at the lodge. We have one bedroom chalets and for a higher tariff 2-5 bedroom villas. We are constantly performing ongoing refurbishment in all accommodation types and are currently upgrading furnishings and performing maintenance on the chalets. We note your comments in respect to breakfast at the lodge and advise that an improved menu and location has been in place for a number of weeks now and we are receiving very good reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to do the tongariro crossing and so me needed a hotel not far away from the vulcano! The owner of the lodge was very friendly he even provided us with towels in order to protect our heads from the sun because we had forgotten our caps :) the room was very clean and after our 36 hours flights vom austria to new zealand taking the first shower in the lodges bathroom was a great feeling :) we booked the shuttle service to the startpoint of the tongariro crossing route and everything went well! A pleasent stay :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnii01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.4 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Property: Tongariro Lodge
Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing