We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location, wonderful hospitality, very attentive to needs & making our stay memorable”
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, wonderful hospitality, very attentive to needs & making our stay memorable”
Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at Tongariro Lodge with Graham & Kim our hosts. They gave great advice about the Alpine Walk went out of their way to make sure we were looked after on our stay. I would thoroughly recommend the Lodge, the cabins were well appointed with great views & were really comfortable. The restaurant was excellent, with a range of choices & a good wine list. The atmosphere was friendly with people in the restaurant talking to each other across tables! I would go back again - next time I will try & catch a trout for the chef to cook up for me!!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    45
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
34
96
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We arrived after a long trip from San Francisco with young children and were warmly greeted and made to feel at home immediately. After a weeks stay it has only gotten better and better. Graeme Smith and his team have gone way beyond the expected again and again. Today is Christmas, and in addition to a fantastic buffet lunch, Graeme dressed as Santa Clause and had presents for each of the children - presents he selected individually for each child. Another time he drove far out of his way to retrieve a watch my daughter left on a charter boat. We arrived with little planned beyond three days of fishing, and he helped us to fill each day with fun things for everyone ranging from a great day whitewater rafting to a guided hike on Tongariro Crossing - both are highly recommended. And the fishing was world class. We were lucky enough to have Tim McCarthy as our guide, and caught our share of five pound plus rainbows. The food at the lodge is outstanding, and our accommodation - the house called Cattle Rustlers - beautiful and practically brand new. We will certainly be back, assuming I can successfully get my family to leave tomorrow ...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shothod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2011

From the time we drove up the driveway until the time we checked out of this fabulous lodge, the service and the experience has left us wanting for more. In every respect our expectations were exceeded - in terms of the level of service received, the amazing food and the stunning viiews from our outstanding accomodation.
Be very sure that we will return - only this time, we will be bringing others.
Amazing stuff guys - thankyou!!!

Room Tip: Chalet 10 offers outstanding views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed here on a GrabOne deal and thought it'd be perfect for a long weekend before Christmas.

When you drive down the driveway it really does feel like a country escape. You get to the reception area and we were met with a young girl who needs to work on her customer service. I don't appreciate being spoken down to at the best of times but the fact that we bought a GrabOne deal seemed to add to her attitude like we were lower-class. Not a good first impression. We also forgot to print off the voucher to take with us. An easy thing to do when you're driving up from Wellington early in the morning and you're concentrating on a million other things.

We got to our room, which was cozy at first glance. The walls are wooden panelled which definitely gives in a country feel and I found it quite charming. The only disappointments I found were with the bathroom, as the bath had mould growing on it and it didn't quite fit with the rest of the room, the toilet is right by a sliding door where there's a gap in it and the walls are so thin we could clearly hear our neighbours next door. So our idea of a nap went right out the window.

The deck area was nice. The lookout onto the rest of the property was very country-esque with a small view of the river in the distance. We had time before dinner to go for a walk, so we begrudgingly went back to reception to ask if there was a walking trail nearby that we could do before dinner. The person behind the desk was a man this time (thankfully). If I remember right his name was Paul. Lovely guy. He gave us a 1-hour walk to do just in time for our reservation at the restaurant.

When we went for dinner, we were asked to sit in the lounge area where our drink orders were taken and canapes were bought out for us. Then they took our dinner orders and showed us to our seats just before our meals were ready. This I found very enjoyable. My partner had the venison entree which he though was amazing. I had pasta which was fantastic!! Our mains were lamb and fish of the day (for him it was tuna). And I can honestly say it was almost the best lamb I've ever had. And we had a chocolate desert which was delicious, not too rich as to be sickly and not too tasteless as to be dull. Food coma anyone?

We didn't stay that much at the lodge for the rest of the time we were there but we had dinner again at the restaurant and it was still great food. It's just a shame our first impression was so bad because the rest of the staff were great. The room we stayed in was a bit stuffy at times and the window was tricky to open without turning on a light.

All in all though, we'd stay there again, but we'd get a stand-alone room where we can't be disturbed by noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: Don't get a chalet. They're far too noisy. And if you want a spa - get in quick because on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre_Hughesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Lovely location. Lodge very clean and comfortable although the area set aside for tea making a bit cramped.
Staff were lovely. Communication via email regarding our stay was excellent. All the staff we met couldn't have been more helpful.
Food in the restaurant was scrumptious.
We will definitely return. Must do the crossing again and hope for better weather!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed in a basic chalet - nice room, though small, but as mentioned in another review, we could hear most of the conversation and crying baby through the wall from the unit next door.
What makes this place stand out is the setting and the level of service, which is excellent. We had been looking forward to the dining experience, and while nice, we have had better meals for much less money, including across the street the second night of our stay. The food was well-prepared but not particularly interesting. I would come back to the lodge for fishing if I could get a stand-alone cabin, but I wouldn't bother eating dinner there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZannyDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napier
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The restaurant and lounge facilities with two open fires immediately gave a warm comfortable feel and the food is excellent.The staff are wonderful too
The chalets are lacking in a bit of detail and maintence and do not deserve the asking price
We will be back for the food at least

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janewestshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.4 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Property: Tongariro Lodge
Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing