We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway”
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Got a grab-one deal and stayed for a couple of nights over a winter weekend. Lodge very quiet. Stayed in chalets which were basic and comfortable - moved to a different unit on the second night because the bed was rather firm the first night. This was no problem for an excellent team of staff for whom nothing was too much trouble. Watched the Super 15 final on a TV in the bar which nearly gave the barman a hernia carrying it there. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZSTARGAZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TongariroLodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear NZStargazer,
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear the James' effort in bringing in a TV was worth it, despite the Crusaders being beaten.

I didn't realise your star gazing interest....next time you stay we can arrange a visit for you to the local private observatory.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Steve Smith
GENERAL MANAGER
TONGARIRO LODGE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2011

My partner and I visited the Lodge for a short getaway from Australia over the Easter break -and we did not want to leave.
When we arrived it was late (close to 11pm) yet the Lodge Manager, Steve, personally greeted us and made sure we were settled in and comfortable. The service was definitely a highlight of the visit, and that is saying something since the location was absolutely gorgeous, the food incredible and the choice of outdoor activities seemingly endless. Steve and the team were warm, friendly and full of great tips and advice to help us enjoy the stay - nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in a standalone lodge by the river. It was private, roomy and very comfortable - kitchen, fire place, bbq and outdoor setting on the balcony.
The location was spectacular. The lodge is by the river, spotted by fly fisherman trying their luck. The mountains are in the background and trees with their autumn leaves a flaming red against a lush green countryside - a sight I dont normally see on the east cost of Oz. It made it very easy to unwind and relax.
The food at the lodge restaurant was an adventure in itself. My belt buckle is paying the price now but it was well worth it!!! We worked our way through the normal menu and treated to a bonus with a special 6 course function with a local maori chef hosting a dinner using traditional and local ingredients.
The choice of activities seemed endless - we were lucky enough to go on a helicopter ride which was phenomenal and definitely the best way to see sights (which landed on our doorstep right in front of our lodge!), white water rafting (a must do), golf and a visit to the local wine and food festival.
We didnt get to try the fishing (what the place is famous for!), spa, local hot springs or hiking trails - couldnt find the time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Domenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We booked this as a late special on Wotif. The room was advertised at $499 and being offered for $199 so we thought we would enjoy a bit of luxury. As you drive in to the grounds, you could be somewhere in Scotland; they're quite stunning and the lodge itself was nice but not as outstanding as say Tarraleah in Tasmania. However, the staff were brilliant. We were given a one bedroom chalet which was where the enigma started. Beautiful grounds, nice lodge, fantastic people and yet the room was a real let down, especially at $199! We had just come from a fantastic motel in Taupo, which was $70 less and better than most hotel rooms we have stayed in! If it hadn't been for the staff at the lodge, we would probably have upped sticks and gone somewhere else to stay. The rooms must have been furnished in the 80s and nobody has thought about upgrading them in 30 years! There's wifi only at the lodge, not in the rooms. We had dinner at the restaurant, (dinner was up to 9.00pm but the chef told us that it was 7 or nothing) which was superb and the cooked breakfast the next morning was excellent too! So there you have it, beautiful grounds, beautiful people, good lodge, fantastic food and totally let down by lousy overpriced rooms. Why?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0bbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My wife and I along with two other couples just returned from another wonderful trip to New Zealand. Having been spoiled by wonderful hospitality in New Zealand before we were looking forward to our stay at Tongariro Lodge for some world class fly fishing. The visit exceeded our expectations. The accomodations were perfect, the food and overall hospitality were outstanding, we were treated like family, and the fly fishing/guide service is truely the best in the world. As an avid fly fisherman, I can't imagine a better place to book than Tongariro Lodge. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerbrown123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Had a lovely break here. We stayed in a Chalet, which is actually really just a room with an ensuite. 'No fridge' others have noted; emailed them to check on this and even though they said 'no there are no fridges', there was a small fridge in the room when we arrived. They are happy to provide you with what you need to have a comfortable stay. Booked through Wotif.com so reasonable price - linen was a bit old/cheap if you were paying the going rate you'd be disappointed. But it had a lovely deck and beautiful outlook over Tongariro River. Service excellent, a lovely bar and restaurant. Go to River Winery for meals across the road aswell - fantastic food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLM3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

From the moment we approached the drive in to the Lodge property we knew we were in for a treat. It is secluded with beautiful grounds and atmosphere. The reception staff was there to genuinely please use. The property manager was very professional yet made us feel at home. They upgraded our room to a larger unit without us even making the request. They were definitley out to accommodate us.
The dining was 5 star. Dinner and breakfast for the 3 days we stayed there were over the top. Wonderful, delicious, gourmet selections. We were able to meet both of the chefs on staff. They were very personable and extremely talented. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigandsusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We have stayed at this lodge five times in the last 12 months. The surroundings are for nature lovers, you can hear/see the native birds sing outside your room and hear the river rushing by. Even though it was winter, we both loved sitting on the deck outside the chalet with a glass of wine and watching the stars in the sky. (There are no lights from any cities!). The chalets are not ritzy like a hotel, and are very much wood cabin style, which we loved. The evening meals in the very atmospheric dining and lounge rooms have been consistently excellent and are worth the trip to the dining room in the cold night air-the crackling fire and comfortable surroundings are wonderful. The staff are all very warm and helpful, and we were very well looked after. The new management team are very friendly and have retained the lovely staff they has before who were always outstanding.
Breakfast is excellent, especially if you are a big eater, everything from Rhubarb and Muesli to ala carte style. I would say if you want a nature experience and to relax, (if you fly fish this would be heaven) personal service without being a 24 hour room service scenario, you can't beat this one.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashgrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,700 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 10 in Turangi
132 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 10 in Turangi
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
310 reviews
1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: 83 Grace Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: $123 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing