We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverstone Backpackers
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“extremely helpful”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We made our booking quite late in the afternoon and the staff member was very accommodating when we explained we would not be arriving until after 9pm (and she would have already left for the day.
We found the place was very clean and modern. And even a small heater had been put on low in our room to take the chill off which we thought was very thoughtful. She also said we could sort out payment the next day when she started work.

Room Tip: We didn't actually have much time to check out rooms. We arrived quite late and left straight af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
8
40
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in a dobule room in January for 2 nights and the place was just amazing. If we hadnt prebooked other places in other cities we would have stayed there for a week!
The hosts were really friendly and helpful, they pointed us into the right direction for cheap hot pools in the areas to prevent sore muscles after the Tongariro Crossing.
Every night we had a barbeque and the atmosphere was very friendly. Coin operated washing mashine and wifi worked without any problems and the kitchen and bathroom facilities were clean and offered everything we needed. Nice area outside to have dinner or just to chill out in the afternoon and a simple and clean room with a comfortable bed - just everything we needed, thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Riverstone is really a great place, everything is though to make the backpacker confortable, you really feel that you are in friendly, cosy and a kind of luxury place. The hostel is really beautiful and clean, nice kitchen that really have everthing you will need and in a really clean and good shape. The living room invites you to lay down on the coach to chill with others or watch a movie. Outside, there is a barbecue and a hamac so as a terrace when it is possible to eat in summer (I was there in winter so we didn use it). I really recommend this place. It is true that is a home away from home

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeline77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Montana, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this backpackers and really enjoyed our experience. This is more than just a backpackers hostel, it is a home away from home. The rooms are clean and tidy, the kitchen is modern and well equipped, and the backyard is a great place to relax after a day of hiking or fishing. We came here to fly fish, and loved the little details like having places to hang your waders and store your rod at the end of the day. During our stay we met some wonderful people and enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. It is a beautiful little spot and we hope to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a nice clean comfortable hostel. The kitchen is well equipped and the lounge very comfortable (and nice and warm). It was easy to get chatting with others and either watch TV or play some games. I played Uno with some French guys and an 8 year old. There are clean bathrooms (bit on the chilly side), and very comfortable bunks in the dorm. The room was supplied with a small heater, which had to work quite hard to warm up the room, but once in bed I was cosy.
The local shops are a short walk away, and the hot baths are walkable (albeit a very long walk).
As it was the start of the low season, the staff were often off sight, but this was explained to me and did not impact on my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The two of us stayed in Riverstone Backpackers for two nights in early January in a double room. The purpose of this trip was to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and this was a perfect place to stay. We organized our own shuttle for the crossing however the staff at Riverstone are happy to help with this and are full of tips and recommendations to ensure that you enjoy the experience. However, Riverstone does have select opening hours and it can be difficult to check in if you arrive outside these hours. We arrived just after 5pm and the staff were away and we could not find anyone to assist us to check in for an hour. We recommend that you contact management ahead of time to double check the process for out of hours check in if you are going to be late.

Riverstone has a gorgeous indoor/outdoor patio area including a BBQ, hammocks and plenty of relaxing seating and places to eat dinner. The kitchen facilities were some of cleanest and highest quality that I've seen for a backpackers. Our room was clean and functional. We ate dinner both nights at Cafe FHGC at the climbing wall around the corner. Delicious burgers and very cheap. Overall I would highly recommended this backpackers to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Elspeth_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After walked the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, we drove to Turangi. As we always preferred the smaller hostels, we sticked with Riverstone, and it proved to be a good decision.

This is a small hostel with 30 beds or less total. We booked a double room which was quite a luxury one: it was bright, very spacious with a huge and comfortable bed, electric blankets, etc. The kitchen was the best I have met while in New Zealand, with tons of pens, plates, dishes. We were quite amazed with inner and outer lounge areas!

The shared bathroom was spotless with endless how water. Off-street parking is available. The wifi is just $5 / day and the supermarket is just 2 minutes of driving away.

The guy at reception was friendly and helpful, however he seemed he had smoked too much sometimes. :)

It was the perfect place to rest after the Crossing. The relaxing atmosphere was priceless!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.7 mi away
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Backpackers

Property: Riverstone Backpackers
Address: 222 Te Rangitautahanga Road | Waikato, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Backpackers Turangi is an independently owned and operated boutique lodge & hostel, offering quality Tongariro accommodation, up to date information, and transport for exploring the Tongariro Crossing and the Tongariro Region. We have modern facilities and a homely and relaxed atmosphere. There are native gardens, flash kitchen and a large deck and in winter often an open fire. Riverstone is frequently rated by BBH Backpackers and on TripAdvisor Specialty Lodging, as the very best Tongariro Crossing accommodation. Top Rated Accommodation BBH 94% 2016 Trip Advisor 94% 2016 Lonely Planet 'Top Choice' 2016 Free WIFI Tongariro Crossing Shuttle Modern Facilities Best Information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing