We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the Caves Trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Handy for the Caves Trips”
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Nice lodge on beautiful farm setting and great location for going to the caves (accross the road). 20 minute to walk into town/village where there is bar etc.

Rooms were small and basic (we have ensuite double), any noise will come from backpackers staying there - the noise from outside is none existent so there is potential for a good night sleep.

Agree with other reviews regarding beds - need to be updated as i was sunk in the night!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke_of_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    64
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
11
58
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

This hostel sucks. Room didn't have working heat. Staffed by an incompetent traveler who ran out of money and who hardly ever manned the reception desk. Hard box springs and threadbare mattress.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstimsky32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Juno Hall for one night in October, before checking out the caves the next day. Juno Hall was the most basic hostel we stayed in our whole trip. We had an ensuite room, with a bunk bed & another twin bed. It was freezing, although eventually the space heater in the room heated up the room. The bedding was meagre, and the beds were awful. We would've been better off staying somewhere else, and paying more. Juno Hall is a part of the BBH network. I thought it would be better than the YHA's, but I was wrong. We stayed in several of each network, and the YHA's were far superior and reliable.

  • Liked — not much.
  • Disliked — everything.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiln28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

A caving activity in Waitomo was on our list of 'things to do', so we decided that spending a night in Waitomo was the most convenient option.

Juno Hall is located very close to the Black Water Rafting cafe, and the surrounding scenery is reminiscent of the shires in Lord of the Rings.

The surrounding gardens are by far the hall's best asset, spending a summer evening lazing in one of the outdoor hammocks was the highlight of our visit.

The hall itself was disappointing - clean and tidy, but not up to modern hostel standards. The same can be said for our double ensuite room. Facilities were ok, but the swimming pool looked decidedly dodgy.

Those going the self-catering route should come prepared as there are no shops near by. Although the hostel did have some basic supplies - that were at a reasonable cost.

Overall, would not recommend this accommodation - consider staying in one of the larger towns nearby.

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens
  • Disliked — very basic and dated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn0wman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2006

We spent a couple of nights recently in Juno Hall. If you're travelling around New Zealand by bus you'll be dropped off across the road from Junos at the Blackwater Rafting centre. There's a small hill up to the hostel which might be a chore if you're laiden down with luggage, but its worth it. Junos is surrounded by beautiful quiet countryside. If you're a nature lover you'll be in heaven as there is deer called Snowdrop, a pot bellied pig, a goat, two lambs ( one which is getting physio for a dodgy leg at the mo and so sleeps in the laundry room!) and a cat called Kitten. There is a very laid back feel in this area so if you're looking for someplace to chill this is definitely it.
Junos is done chalet style and is like a big cabin. The rooms are comfortable but by no means large, and have an electric heater. There are two huge log burners which make the whole place so cozy and lots of couches to chill in and read or doze! There is an outdoor pool and tennis court but I think there only open in Summer. The whole place was very clean.
If you don't have a car its about a 15 minute walk into town, but if you're ownly stopping off to see the glow-worm caves or do some rafting, as I mentioned Blackwater Rafting is right across the road. The town itself has a few cafes, a pub and a small Caves Museum which doubles as the Post Office and Tourism Info centre, so if you're looking for lots of action this might not be the place for you.
Junos was a clean, comfortable , cosy place with a laid back vibe and friendly staff...I'd recommend staying here.

  • Liked — So chilled and comfy
  • Disliked — It was a bit out of town I suppose
  • Tips/Secrets — This is great if you want to chill, if you need constant stimulation then don't stay here...oh and theres only one computer.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank juliedon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
508 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers

Property: YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Address: 600 Waitomo Caves Rd, Te Kuiti 3977, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo has been entertaining guests for decades with its deep caverns, luminescent glowworms and dark waterways for generations. YHA Waitomo offers the perfect base to experience all this spectacular place has to offer. The hostel is situated on a farm and has stunning views and native forest as your backdrop. Relax in a hammock by our large swimming pool and unwind from the adrenalin activities on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing