We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy couch lounge is nice opportunity to socialize with other guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfy couch lounge is nice opportunity to socialize with other guests”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I enjoyed my stay here. The bed was good and the lounge corner around the fireplace/tv opens up a lot of possibilities to socialize with the other guests. The wifi was quite expensive though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    59
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
11
53
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

I am really glad I didn't read the rest of the reviews before I stayed here, otherwise I probably wouldn't have booked it, and that would have been a shame, cos I really enjoyed my stay at Juno Hall. It's in a beautiful setting, just up the road from the Black Water Rafting Company, and set amongst lovely countryside with rolling hills etc.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are clean, showers are free, and there is plenty of space.

The communal area is really big and clean. We spent the night playing scrabble and chatting to other travelers.

The grounds have all sorts of farm animals and we took a walk around and met some very friendly pigs, goats, horses... and an extremely friendly calf called lucky.

The management is local and on-site, and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night as we did the black water rafting cave trip. It was handy being only across the road from where we had to meet, but that was its only perks. We have been staying at Hostelling International hostels throughout our whole trip (YHA in NZ) as we are members, and we were let down by this hostel. Unfortunately it did not meet the high standards we experienced across the USA. We would have been happy to stay there if we paid significantly less- this was the main reason we weren't happy- not good value for money.
There were flies everywhere- all over the kitchen and lounge, and at night there were bugs everywhere- but this is expected in the middle of nowhere! The rooms were very stuffy, but clean. If you have a car I think you can find somewhere else to stay and drive to the cave trips.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

we are a middle aged couple who travelled independently, staying at a mix of YHAs and motels. We are down to earth, not fussy, and enjoy the facilities of most YHAs.

Juno Hall is a lovely spot, the main building which houses the bedrooms, bathrooms, kitchen, TV etc is situated on a farm and it appears the owners live just above the building. There were some lovely spots to walk around, some friendly animals and we highly recommend spending a few hours chilling out on the two hammocks! The main road into the caves area is directly in front of the building but the traffic was not a problem, even though lots of tourist buses went past.

There is a pool which looks nice but it was being cleaned when we were there so we were unable to use it.

The twin room with ensuite consisted of a single bed plus a double bed with single bed attached on top. There was a TV in the room and a table and a chair and not much else. The outlook was very pleasant. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean.

Negatives, in no particular order
Mattresses: as is a common complaint from others, the mattresses are no good at all; they need to be thrown out. They are thin and uncomfortable and there is no need nowadays for such lousy bits of foam to be used. It surely could not cost too much to buy high density foam mattresses. We noted in room 4 that the double bed had an ensemble mattress and base; why not the other double beds??

The double bed we had was appalling; the worst I have been on; it sagged so badly from a combination of a useless thin mattress and many bodies of differing weights sleeping on it over time.

At around 1am on the first night we stayed there, we got up and pulled the mattress from the single bed and put it on the double bed mattress then one of us slept on that, while the other one slept in the stand alone single bed which was just bearable.

Kitchen: I have never been in a YHA kitchen before where there was absolutely nothing to wipe the kitchen benches down with, other than using teatowels; not very hygienic! They had an inadequate range of pots and pans for the numbers they would have with a full house and some electrical items did not work.

Noise: along with the main building which has a variety of rooms and dorms, there are a number of camp sites and van sites available. These people are able to use the kitchen and showers and toilets.. not a problem IF there was only a big sign on the door they enter and exit the building from saying "please be quiet" or similar. The constant slamming of this door and the thumping of their feet down the long corridor as they came and went through the night was not pleasant for those of us in the rooms/dorms.

Staff: the staff member on duty during the day was not warm and welcoming (those times when she was around; it was hard to catch her at the desk and when you did she was not at all friendly; perhaps she has an issue with older 'backpackers?'

In hindsight, for the nightly cost we had to pay, we would have paid extra to stay in a cabin in the nearby caravan park if we had been aware of the negatives outlined above.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LydiaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

The place was clean, and beautifully located. My bed was so uncomfortable I was awake much of the night. The "mattress" was totally flat and I could feel all of the slats supporting it. The lodgers were quiet, which was nice, but they were not friendly, too busy watching tv. Okay if you need a place to sleep, so long as your back is made out of steel. At least our space heater worked.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank bethh94611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

It looks a good budget place to stay at the first sight, as it has this lawn outside, with picnic tables... The room is not bad, but if you are looking for a place to sleep, and enjoy the day in the caves, run away from this backpacker...
The whole building sounds (and loud) when people walk in the corridors, and clearly there are no rules for silence, or if there are they will not be followed, coz staff dont give a damn. If you get a bunch of teenagers in the same night u are there, there is no sleep.
There are other good options of accomodation you can find in waitomo and even cheaper than juno hall. Try the Top 10 holliday park.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmontnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

I wanted to stay at the one in town, but that was full, so I ended up in Juno Hall. But it's a nice place! It's clean and the rooms are spacious. There is a big TV room. If you're travelling by bus, they will drop you off across the road. Waitomo Adventures is next door for your caving craving. Only drawback is the 15 minute walk to the town on a through road.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelledalot25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
0.9 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers

Property: YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers
Address: 600 Waitomo Caves Rd, Te Kuiti 3977, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waitomo has been entertaining guests for decades with its deep caverns, luminescent glowworms and dark waterways for generations. YHA Waitomo offers the perfect base to experience all this spectacular place has to offer. The hostel is situated on a farm and has stunning views and native forest as your backdrop. Relax in a hammock by our large swimming pool and unwind from the adrenalin activities on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Waitomo Juno Hall Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing