We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are small but the views are large, also worth the stay for the restaurant”
Review of Panorama Motor Inn

Panorama Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Panorama Motor Inn
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Rooms are small but the views are large, also worth the stay for the restaurant”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Panorama Motor Inn is well named. It is situated on the hillside ( easy to miss ) overlooking the town and views to the mountains beyond. Great views from all rooms I had a studio apartment which was small but ok with small bathroom $90. There was a communal veranda with four other rooms, with tables and chairs. A small pool but no pool furniture. Plenty of parking. Large restaurant with balcony to sit out with drinks, a games area, pool and a piano. Good bar. Used by locals so some noise when they depart around midnight ( not roudy just cars.) Some road noise from lorries climbing the hill. Restaurant food was very good and staff very friendly. Rooms not great but worth staying for the views and the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
25
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
145 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We took a group of 30 older people to visit the Aramatai gardens (highly recommended), and a cruise with Mokau river tours. (also highly recommeded. And stayed overnight at Panorama Motor Inn
The motel staff were extremely helpful in booking us a dinner bed and breakfast package. Everyone enjoyed the roast dinner, and yummy desert and continental beakfast in the morning.
All commented favourably on the comfort and facilities in their rooms..
All the staff were friendly helpful and approachable.
We ourselves would definately stay in the motel again, if visiting the area.
Only two small criticisms. Be aware that this motel is situated near a main road on a hill,and some units near the road heard trucks in the night up and down the hill.
Also that some units have hill or sloping access which could be of concern for some elderly people, if they did not have a car to access their unit.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Great spot on way to Ski Fields, awesome staff, friendly & helpfull
Rooms have good views comfortable & warm very clean, and all with a restaurant and bar!! was great to relax and enjoy a fantastic meal - absolutley recommend this stay

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coldbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The hotel was located out of town, up a steep hill off a main road south out of Te Kuiti, and 5 minutes drive into town. Waitomo Caves were about 15 km north. The hotel site has a panoramic view of Te Kuiti town and surrounding hills (lovely!). The property is built at different levels on the hill. The nearby main road is very busy with lorries creating frequent traffic noise in the room.
The hotel has a small outside swimming pool, as well as an in-house restaurant and bar (which we did not try). There is no wired or wifi internet access in the rooms. The room has a small TV with a handful of channels.

Our unit was a good size which could sleep up to six, given two single beds and a sofa bed in the lounge. It consisted of a living area with kitchenette, separate bedroom with standard double bed, and shower room. The decor was neutral, and generally in good condition, except for flaking paint in the bathroom. The kitchenette and shower room were newly refurbished. The unit was generally clean, although carpets and furniture had dead insects and crumbs on them. The furniture looked tired, and the single-glazed windows did not all close or lock, giving poor in-room security.

Niggles with our unit included:-
Shower water temperature was difficult to control
A Roman blind fell off the wall when we tried to close it
Because some windows could not be closed, insects entered the room
There was a potential room security issue from poor or non-existent window catche

There was some confusion about our booking when we checked in, as the hotel diary wrongly showed our booking our booking for the previous night. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and quickly resolved the issue. She even allowed us to check in one hour earlier than the advertised time.

We only stayed at this property because of poor choice of accommodation near Waitomo.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Te Kuiti hotels

Teesside
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Just turned up and shown selection of room configurations. Some been refurbished others waiting. We booked in for two nights and selected one of the older rooms as it suited our needs best. In fact it actually looked updated. Absolutely no complaints. Staff helpful and friendly. Wonderful views from restaurant to accompany good food and wine.
Close to numerous attractions including Waitomo caves. The town of Te Kuiti itself is well worth strolling around if only to see the giant sheep shearer !
Motel situated close to busy highway but not really inconvenienced by road noise.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level Contributor
250 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

The motel certainly lives up to its title with great views over Te Kuiti.
Stayed for 3 nights in a studio room overlooking the empty pool which was too early in the season to fill..
Did not use the restaurant as there were adequate cooking facilities in the unit & a great Fish & Chip Takeaway in town which was open until 9:00.
Te Kuiti is a 5 min drive to the town centre & SH3 runs close to the motel. You could hear some of the lorries from the unit but you don't notice it unless it's very quet. Great base for exploring King Country at a resaonable rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apollo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I am a frequent traveller whether it be for business and or leisure activities. The Panorama is always my first choice of accomodation!! I am becoming a regular.. checking in approx 5-7 times a year! The Panorama Motor Inn is comfortable, affordable, modern and the staff are so lovely and friendly not to mention helpful! IThe rooms are always clean and very presentable and provide the most amazing views over Te Kuiti township and farmland.. (great to see as i am a foreigner) I especially love how accessable their restaurant and bar is to and from our rooms. And i am always "blowen" away by the portion size of the meals their menu has to over! - Great value and service!! I am from the USA and have always been drawn back to include this "home away from home" into my travels! would reccommend to all!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfeetCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
6.8 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
7.0 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
11.8 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
6.8 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Motor Inn

Property: Panorama Motor Inn
Address: 59 Awakino Road, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Panorama Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established TeKuiti Accommodation, we have comfortable and spacious refurbished rooms with panoramic views of the picturesque countryside. Studio units with king-size beds, units with self-catering facilities, 3-bedroom holiday home with full amenities, suitable for families, with excellent restaurant & Bar. Situated in the heart of the King Country, central North Island on State highway 3, right on the edge of the Waitomo Caves tourism adventures and activities, nestled on the hillside with magnificent views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Panorama Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing