We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Waitomo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waitomo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed at the lodge on February 15, 2009. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and even helped us locate a room at our next destination. Our room was not just clean, it was immaculate, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsMoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
79
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Modern accommodation just a short drive from Waitomo Caves. There is a handy supermarket not far from the motel. Rooms are spotless and beds are comfaortable. The only drawback is the proximity to the main rail line which runs past the motel (we were in a rooom right next to the line). Freight trains zoom past regularly during the night.
Rates are very reasonable considering it is a new complex and is very good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I was very suprised by the standard of the Waitomo Lodge. I'd been expecting something small and tatty, but the room was large, modern, very well furnished and spotlessly clean. A carton of fresh milk was provided on arrival - a very thoughtful touch. Kitchenette was well equipped.

Great location for Waitomo caves , and there's a big supermarket just down the road if you want to cook.

The only minus point was that the other side of the river is the trainline. It's not busy, but I was woken once in the night by a goods train rumbling past. I'm taking off half a point for that. But otherwise totally recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HKG
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Our family stayed at this motel and the rooms are great. very stylish with nice comfortable beds, well equipped kitchenette and everything is very clean. The owners are very friendly and helpful, not very common during our trip to NZ this time. The location is very convenient to the Waitomo attractions (by car) and a supermarket is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. I would have given it a 5 stars but we were unfortunate that the day we stayed there was extremely hot and the rooms did not come with air-conditioning, maybe it is the material of the building and orientation or what, the heat from the day was trapped in the room so all night long it was very uncomfortably warm that most of us did not sleep very well, but the owner said they do have air-conditioners in a few of the rooms and they are thinking about installing air-conditioners in the rest. I would recommend this to my friends travelling to this region of NZ.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nicknata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

What a great find. This is a fairly new motel in Te Kuiti. Handy for the Waitomo caves and other attractions in the area. Everything is really clean and the owner is extremely helpful. We had a kitchen unit which was well equipped. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was great. We had a huge deck outside with view over the river. It is well soundproofed - the owners have tried to incorporate a lot of environmental points into their design such as insulation. There is a supermarket within 5 mins walk for supplies. There is also a large gas barbecue outside for visitors to use. The owner has put together a booklet with scenic drives which was brilliant and took us to places that we probably would not have found on our own. The Waitomo glow worm caves are worth a visit.

  • Liked — Modern, clean, light and comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — No air conditioning in our room and it was very hot.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This is a somewhat new and small motel, with about a dozen units. Ours was very modern, almost luxurious, clean, and had full amenities for tea, coffee, and light cooking. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, and there were good reading lights on each side, many pillows, a desk, a large tv, and several comfortable chairs in the room. The bathroom was large and had electric outlets, a hairdryer, etc. The staff, a middle-aged couple, could not have been more accommodating, giving us low-fat milk for breakfast, when the room came with full-fat milk. The proprietors also gave us tips on things we had not planned to see, such as The Shearing Shed, where we saw an excellent demo on shearing Angora rabbits and the use of their wool. It was very close to the Waitomo glowworm caves, and the price was very good. The only drawback was its proximity to a main line railroad track, but this was ameliorated by double-glazing in the windows.

  • Liked — Comfort and nearness to Waitomo attractions.
  • Disliked — Closeness to railroad line.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
339 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

This is a newly renovated or built hotel with extremely modern facilities. After blackwater rafting in the Waitomo caves, this hotel was a nice place to retreat to for a hot shower and comfortable bed. Rooms also have a kitchenette. The owner gave us a great recommendation for dinner - a place we never would have found on our own.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemckeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
517 reviews
5.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
236 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
508 reviews
10.7 mi away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Lodge

Property: Waitomo Lodge
Address: State Hwy 3 | North end of Te Kuiti, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitomo Lodge was opened in March 2008 and boasts the choice of 14 studio, and 6 one bedroom units. All units have Super King beds, flat screen TV, Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, blackout blinds and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Additionally, some units have spa baths, air conditioning, cooking facilities, and broadband connections. Local Tourist Attractions include the Waitomo Caves, Ruakuri Cave, Spellbound Tours, Black Water Rafting and Otorohanga Kiwi House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Waitomo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing