We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend it more highly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waitomo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waitomo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kuiti B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Channel Islands, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Can't recommend it more highly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just a delightful little motel. The rooms are incredibly spacious, immaculately clean and fitted out to a high standard. We had enormous French windows leading out onto a decked balcony, where we were able to enjoy a quiet takeaway supper and breakfast as the sun came up early in the morning. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and charming, even offering to give us a lift when we had some car trouble. As motels go, this one really sets the bar high!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    72
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
79
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boro
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night in Jan 2013 with my 15 year old child. I loved the place. I thought the room was modern, the bed was soooo comfortable and it was exceptionally clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Yes, the room backs on the the rail line but I liked that. I loved being able to watch the trains go by. I did not find the noise a problem at night probably due to sound proofing in the room. I agree with a previous review 3 star hotel but a 5 star service. Thanks Lorelle for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica_miller1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otane, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Couldn't really fault Waitomo Lodge - the best thing for me was the good quality king size bed, it is rare to find a comfortable bed in a mid price hotel. Good value for money, would have no hesitation is recommending. The two previous nights were spent in an hotel in Rotorua but that's another story..... and not a good one!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Couldn't be happier that we were double booked at another place and stayed here. What a find!
Lorelle was the perfect host and the lodge was excellent. Extremely clean and modern rooms. Great attention to detail and a high standard.
Thoroughly recommended.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

3 star hotel , 5 star service , 5/10
Great value for money.
Our room had modern decor ; King sized Bed , Airconditioning , Spa Bath , Kitchen and dinning area plus seperate bedroom.Washing machine and dryer avaliable to guest.
Easy to navigate 15 minute drive the glow worm caves. In a nice little country town, with everything you might need.
You could not fault the friendly and extreemly helpful staff.
Only (slight) drawback was the near by busy truck road and rail line. Creates a bit of noise in the morning after 5 am.

Room Tip: Geta room with the 2 person Spa especially if going black water caving. Great to get warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at the Waitomo Lodge motel for a couple of nights and loved the accommodation. The rooms have a very good lay out, comfi beds, all mod cons and is wonderfully modern and clean. Lorelle and Fraser are friendly and ever so helpful. We will most definitely come back when we are in the area! Paula and family

Room Tip: Ask for a room not by the main road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed a night whilst visiting waimoto caves. Was offered a conecting unit as i was travelling with my kids. These single level rooms are huge, very well equipped and would have loved to have stayed longer. Very friendly and welcoming reception. Value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kuiti
5.3 mi away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.1 mi away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waitomo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waitomo Lodge

Property: Waitomo Lodge
Address: State Hwy 3 | North end of Te Kuiti, Te Kuiti 3910, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kuiti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kuiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waitomo Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waitomo Lodge was opened in March 2008 and boasts the choice of 14 studio, and 6 one bedroom units. All units have Super King beds, flat screen TV, Sky TV, tea and coffee making facilities, blackout blinds and spacious en-suite bathrooms. Additionally, some units have spa baths, air conditioning, cooking facilities, and broadband connections. Local Tourist Attractions include the Waitomo Caves, Ruakuri Cave, Spellbound Tours, Black Water Rafting and Otorohanga Kiwi House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waitomo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing