We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good strong coffee, lively place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SixFortySix

SixFortySix
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Whangamata
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: SixfortySix is positioned in the heart of Whangamata’s main street. Our commitment is to; create an atmosphere of splendor to be enjoyed by all. Gravity espresso coffee, freshly baked pastries & homemade artisan delights. Dine in or take away, it’s your choice! Seasonal readiness of produce necessitates regular revision of the menu, however familiarity is usually only a mouthful away. SixfortySix offers alfresco dining amongst the action of the main street an ideal place to meet during the balmy summer. We take great satisfaction in delighting our costumers with something new and exciting; Life's troubles melt away when shrouded in the atmosphere of unadulterated desire & relaxation. Private functions welcomed!
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good strong coffee, lively place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stopped in this morning for coffees and cakes and was really impressed. Hugely busy and I czn see why. Trying takeaways tonight!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks JenniNZ for the feedback. Its great to hear our 'standard' double shot coffees are well received. We hope you will stop by for another over the summer or perhaps some more takeaways as we will be open again in the evenings from December 27th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    21
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great scallops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Quaint place, cosy and lovely food. This place is more a cafe than a restaurant but the service was great, attentive waitresses and tasty food

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sioux1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank-you Sioux1953. It great you thought highly of our scallop salad. We are so fortunate to be able to source the freshest seafood right at our 'back door'. We hope you stop by the next time you are up from Te Awamutu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
1 review
“Best in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just love coming here time and time again. Great food & great service. I live an hour away and love to come here in the quiet season. New owners have improved the place tenfold, food and coffee are both outstanding. I say go for the vege breakfast.. is just delicious. Keep up the good work team, I'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks Floor B for taking the time to review us and what a positive review it is. Its great to hear the changes we have made are well received. We look forward to your returned custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rip-Off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner who lives in Whanga & has done his whole life thought we would go out for breakfast as I'm not from here. He said it was a rip off this time. He got an eggs benny & every other time he had been he had for double the amount. Either a different chef was on today or they are trying to cut costs! Not consistent. I had the sweet pancakes & it tasted good. Hot chocolate was nice though on a positive. Service was pretty average however the blonde girl who was on the counter was nice. I'm a south islander so I guess I expect a lot.. But still for a small beautiful community I'd expect more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosepetalweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi RosePetal, thanks for taking the time to write a review. However we are slightly perplexed by it; If your partners meal, which you have have stated he usually got 'double of' truly only consisted on one egg, one slice of artisan toast, one rashers of bacon, then we are sincerely sorry and invite you both back for a complimentary meal. It is customary that Eggs Benedict comes with two eggs, two slice of artisan toast, two rashers of bacon. I think it would be too much for any body to handle, to have any more than that... Don't you? Its great you enjoyed your Hot Chocolate and your pancakes 'tasted good'. I too am from the south Island and I am big on good old 'southern hospitality' - its unfortunate you didn't feel that on your recent visit. Hopefully the next time your in the North you will stop by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Can not go past for a beautiful cooked breakfast and perfect coffee. For the tea lovers they have a broad range so all can find something to their liking

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarrinHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hey Darrin, we are so pleased you enjoyed your cooked breakfast, its what we do best! We pride our selves on being 'different' from the other cafes in town and thats why the teas are great four us too. See you again soon, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SixFortySix also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to SixFortySix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing