We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast anyone”
Review of SixFortySix

SixFortySix
Ranked #8 of 31 Restaurants in Whangamata
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: SixfortySix is positioned in the heart of Whangamata’s main street. Our commitment is to; create an atmosphere of splendor to be enjoyed by all. Gravity espresso coffee, freshly baked pastries & homemade artisan delights. Dine in or take away, it’s your choice! Seasonal readiness of produce necessitates regular revision of the menu, however familiarity is usually only a mouthful away. SixfortySix offers alfresco dining amongst the action of the main street an ideal place to meet during the balmy summer. We take great satisfaction in delighting our costumers with something new and exciting; Life's troubles melt away when shrouded in the atmosphere of unadulterated desire & relaxation. Private functions welcomed!
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Can not go past for a beautiful cooked breakfast and perfect coffee. For the tea lovers they have a broad range so all can find something to their liking

Thank DarrinHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hey Darrin, we are so pleased you enjoyed your cooked breakfast, its what we do best! We pride our selves on being 'different' from the other cafes in town and thats why the teas are great four us too. See you again soon, we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want something innovative this is the place to go! Rolls of paper menu zany idea and works really well. Went for lunch after stroll along beach, chose this place as we'd read reviews and looked good. Excellent service, great to be able to have Corona with lunch, friendly atmosphere, and the food if you wanted could go for something traditional but our choices were superb...Poached Chicken & Papaya Salad with palm sugar dressing $22, and Prawn & Scallop Salad with ginger dressing $24. So fresh and the prawns and scallops cooked to PURRFECTION!!!!!!! the poached chicken still really moist ..not always easy to do! Also shared fries which again were served in true zany style in a little silver basket and they were some of nicest fries we've had for ages, retained their heat and were super crisp...again so often a disappointment but not this time!
Very reasonable for the sort of food it is and the presentation as well.
As we were there a steady stream of diners came in ..not surprising this place is so popular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElsaMiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks Elsa, your review is very informative and we appreciate that. I personally love that you love the poached chicken and Papaya Salad, it is divine. Perfect for those sunny days we should soon be getting. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent coffee and food is great. The service varies as it depends who you get on the day, but the best coffee in Whangamata. Plus free wifi. Well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Klbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

KlBryant, thanks for taking the time to write. 'Best coffee in town'! Thats what we like to hear. Hopefully see yo again next time your in town

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great coffee, great food, excellent service with a smile. A good morning break. Street frontage so easy to find.

Thank HeatherO44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Hi Heather, We are so please you enjoyed our coffee. We are proud to be serving Gravity. Look for ward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place is now known as six forty six, my wife and I went here first thing, the service was good,cafe was set out nicely, and the food was good. We had eggs on toast, pancakes and a long black. The food came out quickly and was nice. Next time we go to whangamata we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren H, Owner at SixFortySix, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thanks Shaun for your review. We are please you enjoyed the eggs and pancakes. Look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SixFortySix also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to SixFortySix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing