We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun evening”

Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar Open for lunch Friday, Saturday and Sunday during summer weeks and beach hop week 11am - 2pm. Verandah menu available from 2pm during summer weeks. Dinner 7 days over the summer period. coffee and local Coromandel Craft Beer. Argo is the perfect destination for those who love to soak up the sun while enjoying awesome cuisine. Call in for a meal or relax in the sun drenched courtyard for a few wines on your way back from the beach. A must stop in Whangamata!!! Winter Months May - Open 5 days a week from 5pm - Monday, Wednesday ,Thursday, Friday Saturday and Sunday Offering $20 Main Meals Sides, Drinks and Desserts extra
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A fun evening”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Good food in good company with a couple we had met before in Nelson. Excellent steak and pork fillet dishes - fab Sauvignon Blanc from Wairapa. Band played music and Lyn danced with everyone

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    48
    14
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
343 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Went twice in a week”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant, classy food, great value for money. A breath of fresh air for Whangamata. The staff are spot on, polite and helpful. Atmosphere is a bit bland acoustics not so good but it proves a good restaurant if you go twice in a week.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookster_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
179 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Disappointing for the "best" restaurant in town”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This restaurant served reasonable quality meals but the disappointing aspect of them was they were not as described. For mains we had the Eye Fillet with chive soufflé and Duck with fragrant spices, cauliflower puree and cherry jus. The fillet was asked to be rare and was served medium and the chive soufflé was a rather heavy chive cake and at $37 you would have expected better. With the duck the fragrant spices must have been waived across and the cherry jus was missing - disappointed at $32. Servings were fairly large (if that is what you are after) so no room for sweets and service was patchy even though they were getting quieter as the night went on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Rated No.1 in town but disappointing”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We were told this was the best place in town and the only restaurant you need to book for, we took our chance and didn't book but got a table. The menu was limited but reasonably interesting and the staff pleasant, but not knowledgable. This isn't a cheap restaurant for the area starters (entrees) were around the $15-19 Mark, mains up to around $35 our bill for 3 entrees and one main plus 2 soft drinks and a G&T came to $105, We had the scallops as starter, the smallest scallops I have seen, and gritty, in an uninspiring 'risotto', the soft shell crabs seemed interesting however the crabs were overpowered by the gumbo and could actually have been anything in there. The market fish was ok served with some crushed 'gourmet' potatoes and 4 green beans in a beurre blanc - the second most expensive dish at $32 - the crust, almond I think, added little to the experience but overall it was ok. The raspberry chicken and bacon salad (second entree as a main) was disappointing. The raspberry was a raspberry vinegarette dressing for the salad, the bacon was very fatty, full rashers and lightly cooked rather than crispy and therefore very unappealing. My wife pointed this out to the waitress at check back, but it was ignored, and again when clearing at which point the waitress said she would tell the chef. We were charged full price so effectively the comment was ignored. It may be no1 in town but we were disappointed with the experience compared with other restaurants we have visited so far in New Zealand. We were only overnighting in town so we won't have the opportunity to compare it to others.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Doesn't deliver on its prices or promise”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a birthday celebration (six of us) while in Whangamata for a week. Booked a day early - arrived to be seated by the toilets/food serving area. D'oh. Had to ask to be moved to much nicer tables (unoccupied) by the window where the sun was setting. Bad start.

In general I would say the prices here are up there w Auckland/Wellington but the quality doesn't match it. For example, 37 dollars for an eye fillet w pate and jus - it needs to be good. It was merely okay. Likewise 25 dollars for a whitebait fritter - it should be good. All we got was an eggy mess w v average tomato salsa.

Service is uneven. One of my friends asked for half doz oysters - three were served.

The wine list is okay. Nice setting.

Could be so much more. Suspect they have the 'fine dining' scene to themselves in whangamata hence no pressure.

Helpful?
Thank new_test_leper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Argo Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing