We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate R&R indulgence in picturesque surroundings”
Review of Brenton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brenton Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ultimate R&R indulgence in picturesque surroundings”
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Everything about this place is utterly charming: from the hosts, to the gorgeous garden and it's views, to the food at breakfast, rooms, pool (and the adjoining bar). We enjoyed this moment of indulgence to it's fullest, and dream of returning one day

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pndontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
96
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed for 3 days over Easter. Large rooms with modern decor and beautiful views.
Lovely garden and lots of places to sit out and read. Sally kindly made a picnic breakfast for us as when we had an early start to get to Tauranga for a Dolphin trip.

We enjoyed a wonderful Easter Sunday Dinner with a scrumptious, sensuous chocolate tart / pie to finish of a perfect meal.

We also visited the hot water beaches near Cathedral Cove, David sent us off suitably equipped with a spade, for a fun day on the beach.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterfordfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkberrow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2010

David and Sally Noon are excellent hosts and run a well run lodge with a good garden Nothing is too much trouble for them and the rooms are very, very clean.

David has an illness and at times finds it very hard to speak, even at times not being able to speak at all. Some people might think that he is trying to avoid them, or think him rude by not answering them.
An ideal place to stay with plenty of places to visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at Brenton Lodge.
It is located at the edge of Whangamata but is only a short drive
to the town.

The proprietors, Sallie and Dave Jackson, could not have been more helpful or cosiderate.

We had the upstairs suite which had a panaromic view of the immediate hinterland and the sea. It was extremely comfortable, had all of the accessories needed and was very quite.

Dinner was available on every second evening we were there. We dined there - the food was freshly prepared, tasty and good value.

Breakfast, which is included in the tariff, is first-class and delicious.

Based on our experience down through New Zealand, the package
at Brenton Lodge is expensive. However, there is little in Whangamata to compete with it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daoshaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Luxury b&b at its best, separate lodges, pool, breakfasts to die for and great hosts. If I go back would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nookman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My husband and I met my daughter & her friend to spend Christmas together at The Brenton Lodge in the Coramandel in N.Zealand. The setting was beautiful looking down to the sea from our vantage point, bedrooms beautiful with sea view also. Pool, manicured gardens and everything you could think you would need was provided in your room. The food prepared by Sallie, who together with David our lovely hosts, was fabulous. They made us all very welcome and our Christmas lunch served at 5pm in the garden looking out on the view was a time we will remember always. The Coramandel is beautiful and I would recommend Brenton Lodge to anyone who enjoys peace and quiet, excellent food and perfect hosts in a most beautiful setting.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoChesterleStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Corkfoodie must have been staying at a different place to the one we are in at present.Brenton Lodge is a great place with exellent food a nice relaxing atmosphere and lovely hosts.
Whilst Whangamanga is very quiet in the week their are some good places to eat and it makes a good place to explore from.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
11.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Colleith Lodge
Colleith Lodge
#1 of 6 in Tairua
53 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
273 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenton Lodge

Property: Brenton Lodge
Address: 2 Brenton Place | RD1, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brenton Lodge is a boutique lodge with four suites, private balconies and independently accessed all with sea and island views. Set in an acre of garden, with inground pool, and just 2kms from Whangamata town and beach. Just an hour's drive from Cathedral Cove and Hot Water Beach, and minutes from Opoutere. A 3 course table d'hote dinner menu is available but should be booked in advance for the first night of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brenton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brenton Lodge Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing