We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brenton Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Breakers Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blake Court Motel(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata(Whangamata)(Great Value!)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort(Pauanui)(Great Value!)
$148
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pauanui Pines Motor Lodge(Pauanui)(Great Value!)
$92
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tairua Shores Motel(Tairua)(Great Value!)
$89
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveler rating
117
11
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
11
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandb bgreat hostsset in lovely gardensgarden barthoughtful touchestui cottagewarm welcomehome from homean evening mealstrongly recommend a staystunning roomtea coffee making facilitiessummer housereal hithonesty barinsect repellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 132 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very welcoming lodge..David has his own bolt hole beside the pool where he listens to the world news whilst putting it right over a G and T with his guests. This sets the style and manner in which they run their property. David and Sallies welcome is warm and friendly and after five minutes you think you ave known them for years.

Look out for Jackson their gorgeous Golden retriever ...we had just lost ours so David suggested we took him for a walk and we did on the empty golden sands of Whangamata.

This is an excellent property with the rooms or more correctly cottages placed high up with superb views.

The rooms are spotless and of a good size with a seating area and shower room. We went in winter and it was chilly but there was an extra heater in the wardrobe ..small touch but important.

Breakfasts are your choice, healthy option or anything you want just let them know before you go to bed.

We have no hesitation in recommending a stay here ...ask for jacksons lead and you'll get a personnal guided tour...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallie H, Owner at Brenton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Many thanks for your feedback, which is always appreciated by us both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have been blown away here. The facilities are great, everything seems to have been recently refurbished and there are lots of nice touches:-
Fresh flowers
Home made chocolates
But the best thing are the hosts! Nothing too muc trouble and the meals and breakfast are simply firs class.
We were helped with planning activities and even given a spade for use of hot sands beach ( after sallie established time of low tide for us)
All in all, first clas, with hosts that are at the top of their game.... Book now

Room Tip: All seemed equally good to us!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pritchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just come home from the most amazing weekend indulging our passion for chocolate in the incredible weekend classes run by Benton Lodge Hosts Sallie and David. Under Sallie's expert guidance we spent the weekend making the most divine chocolate creations - hazel nut truffles, contreau truffles, Lime Ganache filled chocolates (OMG this is amazing stuff :)), caramel filled chocolates, coffee ganache... you will not believe it until you have tried it. I took my husband as a surprise weekend away, and what a huge success Sallie & David made of it. The room was beautiful, Sallie's cooking is incredible. I keep raving about the eggs benedict, just perfect. We were made to feel so special, David and Sallie are so warm and caring, all our expectations were exceeded. We will definitely be back to enjoy their hospitality and soak up the views (and sneak in some more chocolate making.... :) This chocolate indulgence weekend is genius, I most definitely recommend that you grab your partner or a friend and treat yourself to this experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of their rooms called Tui Cottage, it was gorgeous and the view to the sea was so lovely to wake up to. The other wonderful thing was that there was a tui in tree which was fabulous to listen to. Lunch on the deck with a tui singing for us was just bliss :)
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stopped here (by recommendation) for first 3 days of a 4 week road trip round NZ. The rooms were fantastic (ours was in the garden unit) but not as fantastic as the hospitality. Informative, amusing and took a genuine interest in making our visit to New Zealand as memorable as possible including the spade propped up against our car for the visit to the hot pools beach.

And then of course there was the faithful hound, Jackson, who took all two noisy and uncontrolled american children could throw at him.

Ensure you allow for eating in at least one night, Sally's cooking should not be missed.

Of course this quality comes at a reasonable price, but we planned four weeks staying is less good places to average out the cost. This was definitely worth the extra. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Our flight was late and we were heavily delayed by roadworks, which hugely reduced our time here. However what lovely owners, they made arrangements so we could meet up with friends in the town (also recommending a restaurant) and despite being in the middle of serving dinner (which we wished we had had) they helped with carrying luggage up to our room. And what a room. Great views, hugely comfortable and very practically set out with everything we needed.

We screwed up in setting our alarm and were exhausted, so were embarrassingly an hour late for breakfast (you choose your time and your order for breakfast the night before), much to our horror. However they took it in their stride, recooked our meal and were still friendly and engaging.

I wish we had spent another day here rather than using it as an overnight stop, something for other travellers to consider. We also didn't know you could order an evening meal at Brenton Lodge, out of peak season (as we were) this is likely to be a better option than the restaurants that are open in town. The Lodge's dinner smelt delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews