We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little piece of paradise”
Review of Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Visiting our daughter in Auckland for a three week holiday touring NZ from Scotland booked Breakers by good reviews on Trip Adviser was not disapointed Marie went out of her way to make our stay perfect and my daughter even got use of the motels canoe . Breakers is a short walk to local shops and restaurants with plenty of variety. the beach walk only a few minutes away was awesome can not wait to go back.

Linda and Tom from Scotland SITING OUR DAUGHTER IN AUCKLAND FOR A THREE WEEK HOLIDAY TOURING NZ FROM SCOTLAND BO OKED BREAKERS BY GOOD REVIEWS ON TRIP ADVISER WAS NOT DISAPOINTED MARIE WENT OUT OF HER WAY TO MAKE OUR STAY PERFECT AND MY DAUGHTER EVEN GOT USE OF HOTELS CANOE SHORT WALK TO LOCAL RESTAURANTS WHICH WERE PLENTIFUL AND BEACH WALK AWSOME CANT WAIT TO GO BACK

LINDA AND TOM FROM SCOTLAND

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 196 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed there just this weekend gone. Lovely receptionist and a great set up for the children with a playground around the corner from our unit. Breakers reminds me of the gold coast, very modern, very clean and a gorgeous lay out with the pool just outside the unit doors.
This is my new favourite place and we will be going back to Breakers in the summer.
I highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 20 which had two rooms one with a double bed and the other with 2 singles and a fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed for one night only in a poolside ground floor studio. Nicely laid out, spacious and clean, with the pool literally just outside the door. Lovely hosts and staff. Short drive or 5 - 10 minute walk to the centre of town and local beaches. Had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed at breakers for 3 wks by myself and then was joined by my husband for 2wks,5wks all up while i was visiting my sick sister in whangamata,wonderful place with very friendly,caring staff and loving owners,i felt sad to leave there as i'd become part of the furnisher,evrything about the place was top notch and wouldn't hesitate to recommend breakers to every person that travels to whangamata,i no it'l be the only place i stay now when i visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Thank you Marie and Doug for a lovely stay. We really appreciated having such lovely people to talk to who made us feel so welcome, and were happy to help at any time at the drop of a hat. The rooms are tidy, clean, and well appointed. The Motel is nice and quiet, and it was nice to have a pool that catered for preschoolers as well as the adults! No doubt we will be seeing you again some time!

Room Tip: If you have young children you may wish to request a room that doesn't open onto the pool (we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, which was spacious and very clean. Hadn't stayed here for some years, so found the complex a little dated. The unit was a bit tired/worn with age, e.g., the bathroom with the marble tiling on the walls was a bit much, and some of the window latches throughout the unit were hanging off so the windows couldn't be shut properly. Our QS bed mattress is due for replacement as it had bad roll-together and was generally uncomfortable. The spa pool on the deck, though nice to be able to use, was a little worse for wear swith cracks etc and should probably be upgraded soon. Friendly service at arrival and departure. The kids loved the swimming pool and spent a lot of time it in!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

just spent 5 nights here and booked at short notice - did their best to accomodate our family of 5 - owners and staff really helpful and kids loved the pool and spa's - we thought it is very good value for money and would recommend

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
11.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
13.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
107 reviews
13.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range: $122 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata
Breakers Motel Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing