We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel in New Zealand !”
Review of Breakers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Great rooms which are well fitted with quality fittings and decorations. Exceptionally clean and a really nice design which worked well for our family of 4. We had a 2 bed unit which came with a huge spa bath which was perfect for the colder winter evenings. We cant wait to come back in the summer to enjoy the pool and barbeque areas which looked very inviting. The great property is also made so much better by the very friendly and helpful owner Marie who could not do enough to ensure we had a perfect stay.

Room Tip: You must get a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smwatson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 189 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a clean and spacious hotel & great value for what you get.

I stayed here with my husband in early may and we arrived late one evening when it was raining. The hotel was almost empty and the owner gave us a spa suite without charging us for it, which was great! We spent the cold evening sitting in the hot tub outside, which was just lovely.

The owner of this hotel is so kind and caring, I wouldn't hesitate to go back or to recommend this place to friends!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgarianTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

What can we say about Breakers??? Our Dad had passed away and Marie couldn't do more for us, she was so accommodating and was very understanding. Nothing was a problem!
Our room was awesome, clean and bright - and if it had been summer - the pool would have been so inviting! The service was exceptional, these guys deserve an award!
We'll be back in happier times, Marie and Doug, thank you so much!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerryllL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Fantastic facilties and was great for 2 older couples travelling together

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Outstanding Professional Hosts & Service

The Hosts of this fine establishment made it 'An Absolute Pleasure To Stay Here'

'Beautiful People!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedaist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We spent one night here and found it comfortable and good value. The kitchen was really good with nice crockery. The bathroom was spacious, and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We were only at Breakers for 2 nights but would gladly have stayed longer had our schedule allowed it. First impressions were immediately positive with the lovely welcome from proprietor Marie. She couldn't have been more welcoming. Marie showed us a couple of options and we chose a ground floor unit adjacent to the pool. It was lovely. Very spacious and extremely well appointed. Marie is a wealth of knowledge about local activities and gladly shares it with guests. We briefly saw her husband Doug and he exudes the same friendliness Marie does. This is a wonderful place to stay on the Coromandel Peninsula. When we are next there we will definitely stay at Breakers.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFromAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
11.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
13.5 mi away
Blue Water Motel
Blue Water Motel
#2 of 6 in Tairua
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Tairua Shores Motel
Tairua Shores Motel
#1 of 6 in Tairua
152 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Motel

Address: 318-324 Hetherington Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Whangamata
Price Range: $111 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Breakers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality self contained motel accommodation overlooking a superb landscaped pool complex with waterfall. Large BBQ areas for great outdoor dining and enjoying the Whangamata sunshine. Spacious studio, one and two bedroom units with private spa and decks with views over marina and pool, well equipped self catering kitchens, modern marble & tiled bathrooms and Sky TV 50+. Private, luxury honeymoon suite ideal for romantic getaways. Wireless internet, off-street parking available. Children's playground and breakfast available on request. Walking distance to Marina, beaches, golf course, restaurants and lovely designer shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Breakers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Whangamata
Breakers Motel Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing