We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Beautiful scenary, AMAZING food, and lovely hosts!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakes_Mummy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 112 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

Our November wedding was a dream at Bushland Park Lodge. Petra's amazing attention to detail ensured that planning was no drama and both Petra and Reinhard ensured that every little detail was looked after. We were married on the lawn in front of a beautiful flowering cabbage tree, with the stunning twin kauri trees overlooking us nearby, making a beautiful backdrop for our photos. Our guests were blown away with the beautiful surroundings, delicious food catered by Reinhard, and the fairytale like setting in the marquee as the night set in. We were super impressed by the devine outdoor bath, enjoying champagne and candlelight at midnight was a lovely unique experience that I will never forget. The Kauri suite was beautiful and comfortable, and breakfast possibly the best I have tasted! Thank-you Petra and Reinhard, Bushland Park was the perfect wedding venue.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I had a wonderful retreat from the rat race of the big city and stayed at Bushland Park Lodge. nor being sure quite what to expect and was plesantly suprised.
Petra and Reinhard are two of the most delightful people I have met. They are the perfect hosts and respected my need for peace and quiet as well as making feel totally welcome.
Reinhard's food is sensational! Cooked with total professionalism and very generous portions.
This place oozes with warmth, charm and personality with special surprises such as the glow worms and the outside bath which is a must do - even in the rain.
I will definately be returning when I next need to re charge.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleischl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Bushland Park Lodge. Our hosts Reinhard and Petra made us feel most welcome and were wonderful company throughout our stay. They have inspiring stories to tell and a great sense of humour.

Our weekend included the wonderful Euro Cooking classes and our hosts were only too pleased to listen to our requests around the types of dishes we wanted to cook and along with their suggestions we had a great experience and excellent food. Reinhard and Petra cook with passion and all their dishes include an extra "5 percent magic"!
They are keen for you to learn how to recreate the dishes at home and provided recipes to do just that. Our delicious Euro Cooking class produced French Onion Soup, Salmon Tartar with Avocado-Lemon Mousse, Pork Medallions in Creamy Mushroom Sauce with Saffron Wine Poached Pears, Bread Dumplings and Red Cabbage, and for dessert a Tiramisu with a Black Forest Twist.

The breakfasts are large and lovely - the Black Forest bacon and eggs is a great way to start the day.

Because the food is so good we felt we needed to take the short hike up to the Wentworth Waterfall via the track near the lodge. A great way to work off some calories!

Bushland Park Lodge is located on a beautiful property not far from Whangamata. It was great to see photos of the development of the property over the years - we could see a lot of work and passion has gone into developing this.
Make sure you take a walk around the property to soak in the beauty of the gardens and also see the 300 year old twin Kauri tree, the glow-worm grotto and pond with fish and Kura (NZ fresh water Crayfish).

Our dip in the modern secluded outdoor bath was lovely at the end of the day before slipping into our spacious, comfortable, warm, peaceful room.

Reinhard and Petra also have a working glass studio on site and showed us the clever designer glass plates they make. They have won awards for their designer glass art.

The website is correct... you definitely need more than one day to experience everything you can do and see here.

Reinhard and Petra, thanks so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeaPodAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

To Reinhard,Petra , Mark and Jenny,
Thank you all so much for providing Bronwyn and I the perfect setting, tranquillity,hospitality and wonderful food we experienced at Bushland Park Lodge. The weekend will always have special memories for us especially when Bronwyn wears Petra's glass pendant and uses the fabulous plate made by Reinhard.
Thank you so much. We will certainly be telling our friends about this hidden gem called Bushland Park Lodge.
kind regards
Joghn Muir

Room Tip: Great rooms which sets the tone for your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at Bushland Park Lodge with hosts Petra and Reinhard, who made the weekend extra special in every way. Everything was perfect, from the serene bushland setting, gourmet dining and the immaculately presented suite. The real treat though were the hosts themselves, who've brought a little bit of that famous Black Forest 'Gemuetlichkeit' to New Zealand.

And the outdoor private hot bath under the stars is just something you'll have to try for yourselves!

We'll be back soon (probably for the summer lunches after Christmas).

Cheers...
Michelle & Jurgen.

Room Tip: Request the 'Presidential Suite'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Thank you so much for an amazing stay. We enjoyed every minute! Especially the cooking lesson/dinner and the outdoor bath. Beautiful. We will definitely see you again. Thank you xo.

Room Tip: All the suites are beautifully presented and thought out - you'll be happy with whichever you bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewTraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
14.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
121 reviews
3.8 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
3.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
3.6 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#4 of 12 in Whangamata
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Address: 444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range: $513 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat in Whangamata created its own speciality for a high quality and very personal hosting. The owners "Petra & Reinhard" love to share their passion with their guests for fine dining, glass-art & pure nature with New Zealand "bush & beach". Exclusively only 3 fortunate couples experience this very unique place in the Coromandel Peninsula New Zealand with a variety of attractive features: A private glow-worm grotto just 3 minutes from your dining table. Outdoors, close to the lily pond and with total privacy a "Double Slipper Bath" to gaze at the Milky Way stars with Champagne & Candles. Your "private Chef" offers high class cuisine in the Lodge's dining wine cellar; often on his own created art glass dinnerware. Bush walks to the famous Wentworth Falls start at the doorstep, and glorious white-sand beaches are only a few minutes' drive away. Two golf courses close by. Bushland Park Lodge is not just a stop along the way, but a destination in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing