We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and unwind. Perfect hideaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Relax and unwind. Perfect hideaway.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This lodge is a long way off the beaten track, exactly what we were looking for. We had to do nothing from the moment we arrived. Shown around our very spacious bedroom, sitting area, bathroom and dressing area, shown the essentials and then left to settle in before our awesome three course dinner. Nothing was too much hassle and all help and services were offered with out being obtrusive in our weekend. We chose to sit around the lodge on Saturday although there were plenty of bush walks etc we could have chosen to do. After breakfast Petra and Reinhard were gracious by their absence but were there to help when we had any questions . . how does the coffee machine work? etc. Again another beautiful dinner on Saturday night followed by a glow worm walk and bushmans bath.

We had a fantastic weekend and like anything your break will be what you make of it. If you like the hussle and bustle of the townships or want a stroll to the beach move on. If you are looking to escape to tranquil surroundings and hibernate from the world for a while. A weekend of relaxing studded with moments of opulence this is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
91
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Even tho Bushlands is on the door step of some of my favorite east coast places in NZ it still gave me a relaxing adventure I will never forget! It was a birthday prezzy for my 30th so this made it even more of a celebration but more on the quiet side.

From the second we arrived, greeted by both Reinhard & Petra, it felt like we were catching up with old friends rather than visitors. I'm not a person that likes to be waited on, so it was nice to be able to contribute and share the experience.

After seeing some pictures of Bushlands and what both Reinhard & Petra have built up over the years, from a flat piece of farmland to now a stunning garden like little paradise... The surrounds made us feel like we were in our own little world. The spirit behind these two people is amazing and it shows me what you can achieve with a bit of hard work... just two top people enjoying life and their passions.

We enjoyed a cooking experience with Reinhard, we mixed up a jug of sangria and did a cook along lesson on how to make a paella, AMAZING! great fun to get in the kitchen, good times and it tasted yummo in the tummo. We brought a paella pan on the way home and it is now one of our favorite meals.

After a few winos, we relaxed in the private outside double slipper bath... a very memorable experience.

Amazing breakfast Petra, Your black forest bacon and eggs thingeee is now my favorite thing in the whole world... I can still taste the goodness.

Not that you would want to leave Bushlands but Whangamata and the beach is a quick drive down the road.

Thank you both so much, hope to see you again some day soon.
Ants and Jess

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAnts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

It was our last day in New Zealand after a very exciting 2 weeks roadtrip.

The Bushland Park Lodge is located about 20/25 minutes drive from the city Whangamata in the middle of a lovely Park, which belongs to the lodge.
When we arrived, we got a really warm welcome from Petra and Reinhard our German hosts. Even our names were written on a welcome board at the entrance of the lodge.

The Bushland Park Lodge is a pretty and familiar place and the rooms are big and loveley furnished. You feel like staying with friends or family.

The Lodge currently has 3 rooms (please see the Pictures and you will see the furnishment and approx size of them).

We enjoyed a very relaxing and delicious 3 course dinner with Petra and Reinhard who joined us. Reinhard is a very goof chef and I asked him for the recips which he sent to me after we left. It was a very pleasant evening and we had a very nice conversation.

The whole lodge was constructed by Reinhard and Petra and even a winecellar is available.

In the park you will find a own glow worm cave, a water lillies pond, a realxing open air bath tab, fig trees, an own vegetable garden and a lot of pure nature.

We loved it very much, and especially for me, the night at Bushland Park Lodge was so adorable and I hope that we may once return and stay again.

Special thanks to Petra and Reinhard for this final highlight on our road trip.

Room Tip: Directly via internet or German Tour Operator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PremiumTravelService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

Excellent food, good service and very friendly hosts. A great place to be. We stayed for two nights an really enjoyed our stay. Two excellent dinners worth its price, Glowworms at night, a big suite, a terrace with garden view and many little things that "makes a day".
We never expected finding such a special, romantic place at the end of a gravel road.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

This lodge with its professional and personal hosts, Petra and Reinhard, makes you want to stay forever. The rooms are each one personal and with a unique touch. The surbubs with the loverly garden/park offers you harmony. Please do not forget to have your dinners at the lodge. Petra and Reinhard will serve you gourmetdinners with excellent wines. The food is organic and shows their interest in both food but also nature itself. Highly recommended to pay a visit at Bushland park.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie188095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

New Zealand, what a wonderful place to visit. Beautiful country and people there. One should not pass up on this charming Bed and Breakfast in Coromandel Pennisular on the North Island. Your hostess Petral and Reinhard Nickel are the most accomodating, friendly couple you can encounter not to mention the cuisine that they prepared at breakfast and dinner. Check out their website....and don't forget to partake of the cozy setting of the bathtub experience!!

Want to mention that we were there during the earthquake in Feb. 2011 and all the NZ people were so helpful in helping us change our plans around. Not sure the US would have handled it so smoothly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judirembert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingelheim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Petra's and Reinhard's Lodge Is Located remotely in a valley in the middle of a beautiful countryside. After arrival you feel immediately as good friends. amenities were up to date, rooms were spacious and we liked very much the free internet acces. one of the indisputable highlights are the dinner you may have together with other guests or the hosts or for your own in a romantic corner of the restaurant. Quality of food, the way it was prepared and finally decorated on ther plate was always outstanding. Needless to say, that wines met this high quality ambition at any time. We stayed for almost one week and enjoyed every day.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangamata
14.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
3.4 mi away
Brenton Lodge
Brenton Lodge
#1 of 10 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sunlover Retreat
Sunlover Retreat
#1 of 8 in Tairua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pacific View B&B
Pacific View B&B
#1 of 12 in Whangamata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
22.9 mi away
Rapaura Water Gardens
14.6 mi away
Waihi Beach Lodge
Waihi Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in Waihi Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat

Property: Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat
Address: 444 Wentworth Valley Road, Whangamata 3691, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat in Whangamata created its own speciality for a high quality and very personal hosting. The owners "Petra & Reinhard" love to share their passion with their guests for fine dining, glass-art & pure nature with New Zealand "bush & beach". Exclusively only 3 fortunate couples experience this very unique place in the Coromandel Peninsula New Zealand with a variety of attractive features: A private glow-worm grotto just 3 minutes from your dining table. Outdoors, close to the lily pond and with total privacy a "Double Slipper Bath" to gaze at the Milky Way stars with Champagne & Candles. Your "private Chef" offers high class cuisine in the Lodge's dining wine cellar; often on his own created art glass dinnerware. Bush walks to the famous Wentworth Falls start at the doorstep, and glorious white-sand beaches are only a few minutes' drive away. Two golf courses close by. Bushland Park Lodge is not just a stop along the way, but a destination in its own right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bushland Park Lodge & Retreat Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing