We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot for coffee and a nibble” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Cafe

Sands Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“great spot for coffee and a nibble”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Inside it's a pretty average café, but it's lovely outside (and shaded) seating area + the high standard of the coffee certainly drags it up a notch. Great place to enjoy our daily coffee hit while in Whangamata!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    24
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hot Chips! Hot Coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have a holiday tradition of hot chips at least once on holiday. This café has a nice big outdoor courtyard facing the main street. We ordered our food, and coffees and everything came out nicely cooked, and good coffee.
I feel that the interior could be reworked, its a big entrance way, with cabinet food and a drinks fridge, but it seems empty and a bit uninviting, which may put some customers off.
The staff were busy, and perhaps seemed a little overworked.
We would go back again, but its not our top choice for breakfast and coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thickshakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Gotta say it but this is the only place in town I go to get a thickshake.... :) just make sure you get them to put a big straw in not a small, as whoever makes it decides when doing it! :)

Helpful?
Thank rosepetalweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We are locals and its our favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We used to own the café over the road from Sands and we always go to Sands for our breakfasts and coffee because it is the best in Whangamata. We originally bought the café over the road from the current owners of Sands so they have been in the business for a long time and know their stuff. Lunches are fabulous too. Well behaved dogs are also welcomed and given water.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller656920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'm not a big breakfast person but I know what I like and I found that at Sands Cafe. The presentation was superb, service quick and there was enough space so you did'nt feel crowded and squashed in. The meal is self was fresh and beautifully presented and the coffee, scones and smoothies had on other occaisions to die for :)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyRarotonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands Cafe also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Sands Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing