We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Stop!”
Review of El Barrio

El Barrio
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Whangamata
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Stop!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Highly recommend this relaxed and welcoming tasty treat of a place! On our way back from the Coromandel from our holiday, saw this little cafe off the road which looked to be ideal with our 2 year old and very happy with our choice, Great fresh food with a mexican/fusion style menu and good wine selection for the grandparents!
I manage a restaurant and I must say I felt very comfortable and well look after & thanks for the pens for my daughter Bloem too.

Will be back on our next visit.... Cheers

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“Perfect spot for our wedding reception!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The atmosphere and the food was fabulous! They were very easy going and made the night really special for us. The location is just behind the main street, so you have to be looking for this hidden gem. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb food with point of interest”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The quality of the coffee and food at this small cafe certainly made up for its underwhelming location.
The fish tortillas were a taste sensation, the tortillas had been handmade and thus were fresh, as was the fish. The salsa had also been made by the chef.
Friends and family have done nothing but rave about this cafe since it opened a year ago.
Only shame is El Barrio's dinner opening times are Fridays only.
Don't miss it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee and food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good value breakfast and would like to come back and try the tapas on the menu which sound very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice location, shame about the coffee”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Popped in with friends for coffees. Ordered latte and others asked for flat whites. Ended up with all flat whites and waitress didnt seem to know difference

Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Barrio also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to El Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing