We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but service is poor”
Review of The Lincoln

The Lincoln
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Whangamata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Lincoln is a lively, must-visit café/bar/restaurant when in Whangamata, popular surfing mecca of New Zealand and one of the most popular beach resorts around. The Lincoln specialises in craft beers, often introducing new and exciting craft beers both local and imported. They have Boundary Road, Wild Buck & Bouncing Czech beers to name a few, and have a beer to suit every taste.The Lincoln serve delicious food from varied menus which change seasonally, have fresh seafood daily, and also serve weekend brunch and burgers. Try their massive popular Woodstock Bourbon Pork Ribs, and wide selection of steaks from the Butchers Block menu.The Lincoln has regular DJ's and live music, so watch or phone for details of what they have on in the coming weeks. The Lincoln is a popular venue for private functions all year round, such as weddings, birthday celebrations, or work functions, so call us and discuss your individual preferences. We can also do out-catering if you prefer to have your celebration at your place.With its great location right in the centre of the main street, indoor and outdoor seating in the sunny climate of Whangamata, The Lincoln is a popular place for all ages to visit, whether it is for coffee or a drink, café snacks, lunch, brunch or dinner
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay, but service is poor”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited on a Rugby night, don't visit if Rugby is playing as the staff are too busy watching the Rugby to serve you. This was our second visit, this time we decided to eat. Beer is good. Food is below average, not much flavour. Service is very poor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    54
    18
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Winter warmer in Whangamata”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I had dinner with friends at The Lincoln on a Wednesday night in June - winter in New Zealand so it wasn't overwarm and The Lincoln was not busy.
Service was excellent. Our waiter Aiden was friendly and helpful.
We started with two plates of Thai pork Angels ($15 each) - pork balls with deep fried noodles and a plate of NZ mussels($15). The mussels were excellent. The pork balls were tasty but overcooked and the deep fried noodles were a pleasant garnish but bland.
For mains, my husband and one friend had a half platter of ribs with Jack Daniels sauce ($22), meat was tender, tasty and just fell off the rib. Our other friend had a fillet mignon ($34), which was perfectly cooked and seasoned. I had the fish of the day, tarakihi ($23) which came encased in a crisp garlic flavoured batter and was delicious. All meals, apart from the steak, were served with chunky chips and a side salad. We finished with a Galliano creme brulee - which was really good but seemed to be missing the Galliano!
Our main meals came far too quickly after we had finished the starters and the coffee machine was cleaned at 8:45 ( the restaurant closed at ten pm) but overall we would be very happy to return to The Lincoln.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Queens birthday weekend”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Hmmm... food was disappointing.. chicken over cooked... and was cold inside. .. close the doors its winter!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank verynice26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good food, good bar, shame about the smoking....”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped here to have an evening meal. everything looked good and had quite a few customers in, always a good sign.
Staff welcomed me in and gave me a table promptly along with the menu and a few guiding comments which were really helpful. A drink followed quickly.
I ordered fresh cooked fish which was elegantly presented and nicely cooked.
whilst I was eating, the smell of people smoking was really unpleasant and irritating. The front of the restaurant had fold back doors and they were folded back fully open. There was a large party of diners sitting outside the cafe but they were inside a clear plastic weather type cover to protect them from the wind etc. I suppose technically they were outside the restaurant but with the foldback doors open and the plastic cover closed to the outside, they may as well been inside. One smoker was visibly smoking and exhaling the smoke into the restaurant /bar area so as not to blow it over the table of mostly non smokers she was with which meant it drifted within the restaurant. A lady on the table next to me did make a comment to the staff about it fairly firmly and in a somewhat irritated fashion. once she was out of earshot, the 2 staff commented on how rude she was. I did also make a comment that the smoking was not helpful and it really spoiled the atmosphere of the meal which was a good meal. They seemed to miss the point that smoking is not the best smell to have in a restaurant where non smokers come to enjoy good food. its a shame and I must say I will give The Lincoln a miss when i am next in Whangamata as i prefer to go somewhere where the atmosphere is more enjoyable for both a smoker and a non smoker but they do not interfere with each others enjoyment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieC566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stopped in here twice last weekend - first for a quick garlic bread and drink and then brunch the next day. Friendly staff, awesome food, great location, great prices, will definitely be back on our next trip to Whanga

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lincoln also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to The Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing