We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibes Cafe

Vibes Cafe
Ranked #21 of 29 Restaurants in Whangamata
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.menumania.co.nz/restaurants/vibes-cafe
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went here twice in the last week. Served great coffees. Child friendly. Water easily accessible. Great food including yummy chips and aoli. BLT was really good!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Good hearty breakfasts with fast service for 4 dads and 4 hungry kids with my favourite All press coffee

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Horoeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best eggs benny!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

1st timer to the lovley Whangamata we drove down the main looking for a place to have brunch Vibes caught our eye. quick ordering & payment, found a sunny spot outside & 5 min later had the best eggs benny ive had placed infront of me. My latte was also good. My friend had the big brecky wich was a generious portion of man food with toast had to waddle to the beach i was soo full.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Activerelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Service anyone?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This restaurant/cafe looks inviting, boasts a brilliant menu, organic foods, gluton free, etc. etc. Unfortunately the service are a bunch of cool hipsters without a clue. I ordered a tea. It took 20 minutes! They move slowly, cannot bring themselves to double task, and take random breaks with nobody covering the espresso or bussing, etc. We tried again for dinner but they had a full house and were told the best they could do was seat us on the street in the rain, on already saturated chairs. It was unbelievable. We didn't stay. They did not even bother to offer us drinks and give an idea of the wait time, etc. in fact they seemed genuinely perplexed by the situation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive muesli and fruit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited Vibes this morning for breakfast. My order was almond muesli with fruit and yoghurt, and a cup of coffee. Coffee was fine but the $13 muesli and fruit order was very overpriced. A small bowl of commercial muesli...maybe 2/3 of a cup, if that, a tablespoon of yogurt, no milk ( which was ok by me, but I have never had this meal served anywhere without being given the option), and a small glass of chopped fruit....mostly chopped apple, two rounds of banana, a chopped orange segment, few grapes and the remainder suspiciously commercial looking/ tinned or yesterday's tropical fruit.( I did find one almond in muesli)
Very average quality, very expensive portion allocation and a sad offering from a cafe in a prime tourist spot. No wonder the world travellers think NZ is so expensive. Middle of Sydney last month, same order, same price(adjusted) ...more that I could eat,custom made, muesli and fresh fruits, options of home made yoghurt, and 3/4 cup full plus milk. Wake up NZ, we need tourists to return here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Itinerantfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vibes Cafe also viewed

Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
Whangamata, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Vibes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing