We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A motel that's better than a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pipinui Motel

Pipinui Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pipinui Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Whangamata B&B and Inns
Matamata
2 reviews
“A motel that's better than a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

I've stayed in a lot of hotels throughout the country but this motel offers rooms that are better than so many of them. Perfectly located just out of the town centre but within an easy walking distance, and just two minutes from the marina and most beautiful stretch of the coast you'd ever wish to step foot on. Service and cleanliness is impeccable.

Room Tip: They're all good so no need to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beasty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in December 2012. The motel rooms are absolutely spotless and is a good size for a couple. The kitchenette has everything you need for cooking and there is a good size sofa and TV. Our unit had a separate bedroom which was a good size for us. The bathroom had a good sized shower and was modern. Each unit has a little deck and table and chairs outside if you want to sit out and relax in the evening. The owners were very helpful and had lots of recommendations about the area. The location is right by the harbour and no more than a ten minute walk into town for the shops and restaurants. There were four units in the complex and it was nice and quiet during our stay. We are planning some more weekend breaks to the area and we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princess3016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

A little bit out of the centre but near the harbour. A good 15/20 minutes walk to the shops and restaurants. Of all the motels I've stayed in in NZ on 3 trips this probably has the nicest rooms. Very modern, well thought out room layout, very clean and lovely bathroom. The owner provided helpful recommendations for restaurants and local sights. My only negative was the price but then Whangamata was one of the more expensive towns in this part of New Zealand.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_the_traveller4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

There is parking for one car and you walk to most places. The New World Supermarket is about 5-10 mins walk.

The apartments are small, but well designed. The kitchen is well equipped. On a nice day, each apartment has its own grassy area to have a drink and enjoy the sun, particularly in the afternoon. There is also an outside clothes line for each apartment, which is a nice touch, particularly if you are going to the beach and swimming a lot.

We found the staff/manager (who lives in the house at the rear of the section) to be friendly and helpful. The place is modern and clean. It is also on a quiet part of town.

Check out my blog on Whangamata, one of the best beach spots in New Zealand, http://whangamata.wordpress.com/

Room Tip: All are good. There are only 4 apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

I was genuinely appalled at the demeanour and service provided by the Pipinui Motel. The staff were rude and inconsiderate and could have potentially cost us $1000s of dollars through their actions.

I would not recommend staying here under any circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ChanPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whangamata hotels
0.2 mi away
Breakers Motel
Breakers Motel
#1 of 6 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Pacific Resort Whangamata
1.0 mi away
Blake Court Motel
Blake Court Motel
#5 of 6 in Whangamata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Surf n Stay Whangamata
Surf n Stay Whangamata
#5 of 10 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southpacific Motel & Conferance Centre
1.1 mi away
Marine Reserved Apartments
Marine Reserved Apartments
#3 of 10 in Whangamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pipinui Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pipinui Motel

Property: Pipinui Motel
Address: 805 Martyn Road, Whangamata 3620, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whangamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Whangamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pipinui Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pipinui Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pipinui Motel Whangamata, South Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing